LibGuides: Biology: Home

Best Journal Article Database and Other Major Databases

Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Journals, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports; all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, from National Agricultural Library. Dates of Coverage: 1970 - Present
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals. Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
MEDLINE (PubMed version) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, nucleotides, etc., and the National Library of Medicine catalog. Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
Toxline: Toxicology Literature in PubMed This link opens in a new window
TOXNET, previously a separate service for toxicology data and literature, was incorporated into other sources of the National Library of Medicine, including Toxline and PubChem.

Specialized Databases

AgNIC : Agriculture Network Information Center
A Knowledge Discovery System for Agriculture
Avibase - The World Bird Database
database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 27 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds
one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals.
Endangered Species (US Fish & Wildlife)
Search the entire species list or limit by regions of the country. Threatened and endangered plants and animals.
Ensembl Database
Genomes; DNA sequences and assemblies used in the Ensembl genebuild are provided by various projects around the world.
GenBank
NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
Index to American Botanical Literature
Beginning in 1886, when Elizabeth Britton of The New York Botanical Garden was editor, the Index has provided bibliographic data both on books and articles in periodicals. In 1999, the Index went to an entirely electronic format.
Invertebrates Collection Database
Department of Zoology, Field Museum, Chicago; includes many species accounts with images.
JSTOR Global Plants
the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
full-text historical documents on the agricultural and food sciences
New York Botanical Garden Mertz Library
"Search the catalogue of the renowned Mertz Library for top botany, horticulture and landscape design resources."
PLANTS Database - U.S. Dept of Agriculture
provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Reproductive Physiology Animations - Univ Cincinnati
a collection of learning modules on human reproduction from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. The modules have animation, and some have sound
SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
the world's first and largest open access ornithological publications archive.
Tropicos: worldwide botanical data
links over 1.33M scientific names with over 4.87M specimens and over 685K digital images. The data includes over 150K references from over 52.6K publications offered as a free service to the world’s scientific community.
WikiPathways
A database of biological pathways maintained by and for the scientific community.

Librarian / Research Help

Contact:Eboni A. Johnson (she/her/hers)
Oberlin College Science Center
ejohnson@oberlin.edu
440-775-5146

Subject expert for:
Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry,
Environmental Studies,
Geosciences, Mathematics,
Medicine & Health,
Neuroscience, Physics,
Science & Technology