What is a background source?
Background sources are written for a general audience and are intended to give an overview of a topic, fill gaps in the reader’s knowledge, and provide context for deeper understanding. Examples include Wikipedia, introductory textbooks, and reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
When working on a new research topic, it is often helpful to begin with these three questions,
· What research question you want to answer in this paper?
· How to narrow down to specific topic?
· What are the available USEFUL resources for your topic?
Beginning with reading a basic overview of the subject is often a good start.
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide such overviews to help you familiarize with relevant vocabulary and to provide useful suggestions for further readings.
Global Health LC Subject Headings
Library of Congress Subject headings (related to Global Health in OBIS or Summon)
World health – Encyclopedias
Social medicine – Encyclopedias
Public health – Encyclopedias
Medicine – Encyclopedias
Medical anthropology -- Encyclopedias
Medicine – Cross-cultural studies
Health – Cross-cultural studies
World health – Econometric models
World health – Economics aspects
World health – Finance
World health – Government policy
World health – Handbooks, manuals, etc
World health – History
World Health Organization
World Health Organization -- History
Reading Call Numbers
There are two major call number systems used in the libraries: the Dewey Decimal and Library of Congress classification schemes. The first line of a call number, as it appears on a physical item, is a broad subject classification. The subsequent lines are combinations of letters and numbers that organize items into narrower, related categories.
| Library of Congress | Dewey Decimal |
| HB Alphabetically 615 Whole number |
573.3 Whole number, followed by decimal |
| C518 Alphabetically, then decimals (may be followed by another letter) |
.W932A Alphabetically, then decimals |
| 2018 Publication Date, shelves chronologically | e.g., 573.3 W932A shelves before 573.3 W94A |
See How to Read Call Numbers from the University of Berkeley Library for more details about LC call numbers.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and References
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by ISBN: 0306477548Publication Date: 2003-12-31The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
Global health: a challenge for interdisciplinary researchPublication Date: 2012
Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems, and Policies. by ISBN: 9781284122626Publication Date: 2018-09-14Brings together contributions from the world's leading authorities into a single comprehensive text. It thoroughly examines the wide range of global health challenges facing low- and middle-income countries today and the various approaches nations adopt to deal with them. These challenges include measurement of health status, infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, nutrition, reproductive health, global environmental health, and complex emergencies.
The Handbook of Global Health Communication by ISBN: 9781118241868Publication Date: 2012-05-30International in scope, The Handbook of Global Health Communication offers a comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of the role of communication processes in global public health, development and social change.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by ISBN: 9780128037089Publication Date: 2016-10-06International Encyclopedia of Public Health, Second Edition is an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, this new edition combines complementary scientific fields of inquiry, linking biomedical research with the social and life sciences to address the three major themes of public health research, disease, health processes, and disciplines. This book helps readers solve real-world problems in global and local health through a multidisciplinary and comprehensive approach. Covering all dimensions of the field, from the details of specific diseases, to the organization of social insurance agencies, the articles included cover the fundamental research areas of health promotion, economics, and epidemiology, as well as specific diseases, such as cancer, cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and reproductive health. Additional articles on the history of public health, global issues, research priorities, and health and human rights make this work an indispensable resource for students, health researchers, and practitioners alike. Provides the most comprehensive, high-level, internationally focused reference work available on public health Presents an invaluable resource for both researchers familiar with the field and non-experts requiring easy-to-find, relevant, global information and a greater understanding of the wider issues Contains interdisciplinary coverage across all aspects of public health Incorporates biomedical and health social science issues and perspectives Includes an international focus with contributions from global domain experts, providing a complete picture of public health issues
Oxford Research Encyclopedias - Global Public HealthPublication Date: 2017- The World Health Report: to the Director-General byPublication Date: from 1995~
