Skip to main content

East Asian Studies: Home

Welcome

The East Asian Collection actively supports the teaching and research needs of East Asian Studies, the interdisciplinary programs on campus and the regional OhioLINK institutions. 

How to Locate Materials in the Library

To find bibliographic information on East Asian materials, search Oberlin College Library Online Catalog - OBIS. When searching OBIS for a topic, try a keyword search using either Romanized Chinese/Japanese or English terms. East Asian Materials are intershelved by their call number in the main collection in Oberlin College libraries (Mudd, Art, Science and Conservatory). East Asian literature monographs (with Call number PL), however, are shelved on the 3rd floor in East Asian Literature Room (MAPat the Main Library.

Search Strategy

Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research:

  • Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.  
  • Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBISOhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  These sources will:
    • provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT
    • REVIEW and SUMMARIZE earlier work
    • help you FOCUS your topic and
    • provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
  • Next, search research databases to find articles. The library has hundreds of databases; those listed on this guide are good places to begin.
  • You may also wish to use Google Scholar to search the Internet.  This is a great tool for doing cited reference searches.
  • Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet to evaluate the sources you find.

Summon

Summon logo

Search approximately 300 million books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web. 

Research Help

Contact:Runxiao Zhu (she/her/hers)
115 Terrell Main Library

rzhu@oberlin.edu 
Email Me
440-775-5116

OFFICE HOURS (Fall 2019) Weds 2 - 3 pm or By APPOINTMENT  (Sign up)