Printing Culture - Format
Bamboo Scroll - Box
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Bamboo Scroll - Facsimile Copy
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)
Manuscript - Scroll
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)
Detail
Manuscript; hand drawing gold ink lotus
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)
Mandala
Manuscript
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)
8 volumes in a box
1864
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)
Accordion style
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Imperial Sponsored Ming Law Code 大明会典
Date: 1587 万历15年内府刻本
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Imperial Sponsored Ming Law Code 大明会典
Date: 1587 万历15年内府刻本;
Using Manchu texts to do rare book preservation; 修复过程可能沿用了“金镶玉” 装帧形式.
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Four Books Mencius 四書正文英華合編 － 孟子
Excerpt from Mencius; total six volumes, Bilingual Chinese print from movable type; and English print from lithography
Date: 1871
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Four Books Mencius 四書正文英華合編 － 孟子
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Four Books Mencius 四書正文英華合編 － 孟子
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Miniature Commentaries on the Four Books 四書全註
This kind of miniature or pocketbooks are generally referred to as “巾箱本” (jin xiang ben). “巾箱” here refers to the box used to hold men’s topknots or Touji 頭髻. This is a Confucian “Four Books, (Confucian Classics) study guide for civil service examination. there are records of tiny books used as small notes to cheat in exams. More generally the portable size allows frequent checking of the text. Moreover, this edition contains annotations separated from each other by the character注 and black and white circles. These marks and annotations also indicate its use for quick reference. The name 李桂攀Lee Ying-nam is stamped on the book’s leather spine. Lee (1892-1922) was one of the young students sent abroad by the Chinese government during the Self-Strengthening Movement 洋務運動 in the late Qing dynasty. The western-style rebinding and portable size enabled a Chinese student studying in America to remind himself of the Chinese learnings.
--Beibei Zhao OC '20
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Miniature Commentaries on the Four Books 四書全註
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Qing Court Paintings - Textile and Farming 御製耕織圖
Facsimile copy of court paintings from Qing; commercial print, targeting foreign travelers, diplomats and missionaries.
Often bilingual and purple/blue cover with golden characters.
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Qing Court Paintings - Textile and Farming 御製耕織圖
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Printing Culture - Technology
Sugeta - Front
Sugeta (hinged mold) is used in Japanese Papermaking.
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Sugeta - Back
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Japan
Japanese Woodblock of Sūtra of Long-life Bodhisattva Jizō with Japanese Annotation and Illustration
延命地藏經和訓圖會 (Enmi Jizōkyō wakun zue)
Kaei 嘉永 year 7 [1854]
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Other side
Japanese Woodblock of Sūtra of Long-life Bodhisattva Jizō with Japanese Annotation and Illustration
延命地藏經和訓圖會 (Enmi Jizōkyō wakun zue)
Kaei 嘉永 year 7 [1854]
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Korea
Korean Woodblock of Confucius Texts
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Other side
Korean Woodblock of Confucius Texts
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Woodblock - Japan
Alternative format of Woodblock - Japan
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Progression of Printing Blocks for Hiroshige’s Print “Shoya” from 53 Stations from Tokaido 錦繪褶立順序
Date: Meiji明治25 [1892] Artist: Utagawa Hiroshige 歌川広重(1797-1858)
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints 2
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints 3
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Paul Arnold Prints 4
(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections) Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries
Oberlin College Special Collections
