The most frequently-used databases
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
The OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Online access to thousands of historic commercials, representing a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television. AdViews is a collaborative project of the Duke University Digital Collections Program and the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History. Coverage 1950s-1990s
Brings together hundreds of prison newspapers and periodicals from across the United States into one collection that represents penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women-only institutions. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1800-
Digitized materials from the histories of civil rights activism in the United States by everyday citizens of Black, Latine, Indigenous, and Asian American/Pacific Islander communities. Documents include unofficial letters, correspondence, demonstration plan outlines, transportation logs and plans, meeting minutes, programs from worship services, and photographs. Audio and video recordings such as newsreels, interviews, or musical recordings are also included. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1960-2021
Periodicals that depict the various political, literary, and cultural forms that Black Americans used to advance their vision in the ongoing struggle for liberation and dignity; particular attention to publications originating in the early 20th century and interwar era, foregrounding connections between this period and the Civil Rights movement and beyond. Magazines and newsletters from women’s organizations, religious groups, labor organizations, and more reveal a diversity of ideological orientations, strategic methods, and aesthetic modes. The collection also includes select titles from Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean that reflect the global dimensions of the Black freedom struggle. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1855-1986
DiscoverGov provides simple, one-stop searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases including GPO's Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) and GovInfo. It will retrieve reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources and publications available online.
Educational documentaries and fiction feature films curated to help students examine the issues related to social, ecological, political, and environmental justice around the world.
In the context of HIV/AIDS, this collection is dedicated to exploring how art has served as a form of activism, a medium for healing and bearing witness, and a vehicle for remembrance, rage, grief, and sparks of joy. Comprises approximately 75,000 pages and items of primary sources, encompassing a wide range of art forms, including sheet music, manuscripts, playbills, production notes, visual art, and personal papers. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1988-2021
Primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT. Each of the document collections in the database comes with a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources.
Documents the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. Comprises approximately 75,000 pages, drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country, of documents including circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation. In the interest of sensitivity toward the privacy of activists on the streets and in organizing communities today, the collection does not depict contemporary protests. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1912-2009
Guides by Subject
