Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Digital catalogues raisonnés, which are definitive, comprehensive, and annotated compilations of all the known works of an artist. Catalogs are updated regularly for provenance, ownership, exhibition, literature, and publication history. Also includes documentary materials that round out artists’ work and life, such as essays, audio files, and time-lapse videos of artists explaining their techniques. Zoom technology allows viewers to examine art works in close detail, replicating the experience within a gallery.
Allows browsing through a list of vehicles to obtain vehicle specific repair procedures, technical service bulletins/recalls, and maintenance schedules. Features include: maintenance and specification tables that provide the unique data needed for each specific vehicle; step-by-step service and repair procedures, and labor estimating tool; vacuum diagrams to simplify troubleshooting; wiring diagrams to help explain system operation; close-up photographs and illustrations for visual support; and ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams
Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, Quilter's World, and many more. Database features include: full text for more than 1,200 magazines and books; access to more than 720 videos; over 160 hobby profiles; more than 3,000 recipes from various health organizations.
A full text database designed to assist homeowners in do-it-yourself home repair, maintenance, and remodeling projects. Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided in high-quality PDF files. Additionally, thousands of articles from magazines and reference books provide tips and suggestions to supplement the step-by-step project instructions.
Meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content. Indexed, searchable content along with more than 16,600 images, over 1,700 kid-friendly charts and graphs, and more than 600 high-quality educational videos are provided.
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. Materials are primarily from the U.S., Britain, Europe, and Australia.
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Business videos provide critical information for business owners: interviews, 'lessons learned' features, lectures and 'how to' videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information.
A web-based language-learning database with over 100 languages currently offered including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. There’s also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.
Note: Requires the creation of an individual account to use.
Provides concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable. Subject categories include: Arts and humanities, Law, Medicine and health, Science and mathematics, Social sciences.
More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research. Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. WBW uses a powerful search engine that integrates encyclopedia articles, media, primary source documents, e-books, maps, and more in a single search. Other special features: Timeline builder; Citation builder; Classroom activities, lesson plans, and discussion guides for every grade level; and Content correlated to state and provincial standards.