Japanese Resources
- NDL Digital Collection and Exhibitions 国立国会図書館デジタルコレクションについてThe National Diet Library offers online galleries of digitized material with detailed English descriptions. The digitized content can be browsed on an English interface; however, the bibliographic information is available only in Japanese and must be searched using Japanese characters as well.
- The Meiji at 150 Project - University of British Columbia in VancouverThe 2017-2018 Academic Year sees the 150th anniversary of Japan’s 1868 Meiji Restoration, an epochal political revolution that sparked Japan’s remarkable modernization, dramatic cultural transformation, and rapid emergence onto the global stage.
- Nihon Koten Bungaku Taikei Honbun Database日本古典文學大系
National Institute of Japanese Literature
Japanese literature collection originally published by Iwanami Shoten in 102 volumes from 1957-1968. Consists of major works from ancient time to early 20th century, full-text and searchable by keyword. Search can be for the complete collection or limited to individual volumes. (OPEN ACCESS VIA INSTITUTION ONLY) - Japanese Historical Text Initiative - UC BerkeleyThe Japanese Historical Text Initiative (JHTI) is an electronic research database hosted by the Center for Japanese Studies, University of California, Berkeley that is designed to aid research in Japanese history and literature in two ways:
• You can search through a vast amount of source material in the Japanese original and the English translation
• You can browse the Japanese original and/or the English translation of any word or string of words, or any character or string of characters, being studied - Koshiki-database (講式データべース)The koshiki-database provides bibliographical references to more than 370 works of Buddhist liturgical texts,
which were used for the last 1000 years (starting around the year 980).
It also includes editions of about 150 texts of these works, some of them the only modern edition up to now. - Japanese Animated Film Classicsfull-view available online (some with English subtitle)
- Aozora bunko corpus - Modern Literature TextsModern literature texts - A digital project by Professor Hoyt Long, University of Chicago;
Aozora Search Site
Other Resources at Oberlin College Libraries
Primary Sources
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle and World HistoryThrough Adam Matthew AM Explorer Collection
- Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952Through Adam Matthew AM Explorer Collection
- Welcome to Ethnomusicology: Global Field RecordingsThrough Adam Matthew AM Explorer Collection
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
A complete catalog of all of the world's known living languages. Researchers can browse by region or country or search for a language and identify where it is spoken, the number of speakers, the language's classification and related languages, and the current status of the language on a scale that indicates to what extent the language is thriving, developing, endangered, or dying.
- Mary Ainsworth Collection of Japanese Illustrated Books
Mary A. Ainsworth first traveled to Japan in 1905. Over the next 25 years, she steadily acquired a collection of Japanese prints and books of impressive breadth and depth. Ainsworth bequeathed her collection to Oberlin College in 1950. - Digital Silk Road 數字絲路庫Digital Archives of Cultural Heritage – by National Institute of Informatics, Japan
The site includes Digital archive of Toyo Bunko Rare books, Silk Road Maps, Stein Place name Database, Old Beijing Maps, Database of Ruins in Silk Road - Kanseki Repository 漢籍リポジトリComprehensive collection of premodern Chinese texts
Buddhist Texts online 佛教大藏經
CBETA Chinese Tripitaka – 大藏經
Japanese Taisho Tripitaka – 大正新脩大藏經
Master Shengyan Dharma Drum – 聖嚴法師法鼓全集