Cultures & Peoples
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers by
Hunting and gathering is humanity's first and most successful adaptation. Until 12,000 years ago, all humanity lived this way. Surprisingly, in an increasingly urbanized and technological world dozens of hunting and gathering societies have persisted and thrive worldwide, resilient in the face of change, their ancient ways now combined with the trappings of modernity. The Encyclopedia is divided into three parts. The first contains case studies, by leading experts, of over fifty hunting and gathering peoples, in seven major world regions. There is a general introduction and an archaeological overview for each region. Part II contains thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. The final part surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers' encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.
Call Number: Main REF GN388 .C35 2004ISBN: 9780521609197Publication Date: 2004-11-29
Encyclopedia of World CulturesCall Number: Main REF - GN550 .E53 1991 vols. 1 – 10ISBN: 081688840XPublication Date: 1991-01-01Describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
Handbook of North American Indians by
An encyclopedia summarizing knowledge about all Native peoples north of Mesoamerica, including cultures, languages, history, prehistory, and human biology, is a standard reference work for anthropologists, historians, students, and the general reader. Leading authorities have contributed chapters to each volume. Area volumes include separate chapters on all tribes.
Call Number: Main REF E76.2 .H36 (17 vols.)ISBN: 9780160487743Publication Date: 1978-2008
Native Peoples of the World by
This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.
Call Number: Main REF GN380 .N383 2013 vols. 1 - 3ISBN: 9780765682222Publication Date: 2012-11-15
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues by
More than 170 native peoples around the world are facing life-and-death struggles to maintain environments threatened by oil spills, explosions, toxic chemicals, global warming, and other pollutants. This unique resource surveys those indigenous peoples and the environmental hazards that threaten their existence, providing a wealth of information not readily available elsewhere.
Call Number: Main Library GF50 .J65 2003ISBN: 0313323984Publication Date: 2003-12-30
Food
The Cambridge World History of Food, Part 1 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781139058636Publication Date: 2008-03-28Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labellng, and entitlements.- The Cambridge World History of Food, Part 2 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781139058643Publication Date: 2008-03-28
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Call Number: Main Library GT2850 .F666 2011 (4 vol. set) AVAILABLEISBN: 9780313376269Publication Date: 2011-05-25
