Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic ebook collections
You can search for all of our eBook content in Summon, or search specific the specific databases below.
Questions or problems? Ask a Librarian! Note: Some eBooks are leased, rather than owned by OCL, and we can lose access to them. Ask a librarian if we no longer have access to an eBook that you have used previously or if you want to ensure ongoing access to a specific title.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1700 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Historical overviews and contextual essays from leading scholars on topics across a broad range of time periods and geographies. Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs and are printable.
Duke University Press Scholarly Books This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 2,300 Duke University Press ebooks in the social sciences and humanities.
eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text electronic editions of 150,000 ebooks from 750+ publishers, 1,500 imprints. Search by specifying subjects, keywords, authors, publishers, publication years, or other information available for the documents. Many titles are leased.
eBooks Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Select ebooks from the major Ebsco ebook platform owned by Oberlin College Libraries.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC) This link opens in a new window
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly. These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.
Project MUSE (partial access) This link opens in a new window
Journals and books by university presses and scholarly societies; most subjects in the in the humanities and social sciences.
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform This link opens in a new window
E-books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Includes many programming language manuals from O'Reilly, Pearson, and others. Also offers many videos, case studies, and tutorials. Note: Requires authentication. Select "Not listed?" at the top of the institution access pull-down menu and enter your oberlin.edu email address.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Millions of full text scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. (Dates of coverage: 1815-present)
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) This link opens in a new window
Aggregates monograph content from partner university presses, making disparately published scholarship accessible, discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform. (Dates of coverage: 2012 - present)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Books and journals published by Wiley-Blackwell, with broad multidisciplinary coverage.