Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
20th c. art
Art Since 1900 by
Call Number: NX456 .A78 2016 vol. 1 & 2
Publication Date: 2016
Introduces key theoretical approaches to modern and contemporary art. Although the 2016 edition is non-circulating there are several earlier editions may be borrowed.
Artists Documentation Program
Interviews of artists and their close associates about their materials, working techniques, and intent for conservation of their works. Some transcripts are available. Free registration is required.
Documents of 20th-century art Series by
Call Number: Vary; follow link for a list of available titles
Publication Date: 1999- present
A series of bibliographies focused on specific artists, theories, movements, etc. of 20th c. art. Each title lists primary and secondary sources and provides definitions. This record links to OBIS records for the 40+ titles in this series.
Texts & Documents Series
Print Location: Art Library: call numbers vary
Series published by the Getty Research Institute of important primary sources with critical introductions focused on 19th and 20th c. art and architecture.
Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art. 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Art Library, N6490 .T492 2012
The 2012 edition represents thirty countries and 100+ new artists.
Contains important primary sources such as artists' statements and interviews as well as essays describing aesthetic approach and intent.
Twentieth Century Artists on Art by
Call Number: Art Library, N6490 .A795 1985
A collection of essays about art by the artists themselves beginning with Picasso and ending with Rothko.
Twentieth Century Artists on Art: An Index by
Call Number: Art Library, NX456.R59 1985
An index to writings and interviews from around 5,000 artists, architects, and designers found in books, journals, magazines and exhibition catalogs published through 1983.
American Art: 20th c.
Art in America, 1945-1970 by
Call Number: Art Library, N6512 .A6889 2014
After World War II the center of the art world shifted from Paris to New York as American painters, sculptors and photographers questioned the role and meaning of art. Contemporary accounts significant artists, critics, poets, gallery owners, and other observers convey the sweep and energy of the period, generating a body of writing contending over fundamental questions of style and representation, of commercialism and artistic rigor.
Modern Art in the USA by
Call Number: Art Library, N6512 .H47 2001
Publication Date: 2000
Chronological, thorough anthology of texts by artists, critics, exhibition organizers, poets, politicians, and other writers on culture covering the entire 20th c (1900-2000).
Peter A. Juley & Son Collection
The Peter A. Juley & Son Collection holds 127,000 photographic black-and-white negatives documenting the work of 11,000 American artists. Approximately 10% have been digitized (Nov. 2013). This New York photography firm served artists, galleries, museums, schools, and private collectors from 1896 to 1975. The Juley Collection also contains 3,500 portraits of artists, including formal poses as well as candid shots that depict artists working in their studios, teaching classes, and serving as jurors for exhibitions. Search the entire Juley Collection Catalog online via SIRIS. Use the Limit feature to view works only from the Juley collection.
Art in Theory 1815-1900 by
Call Number: Art Library, N6450.A779 1998
Art in Theory 1815-1900 provides the most wide-ranging and comprehensive collection of documents ever assembled on nineteenth-century theories of art.
The Art of All Nations, 1850-1873: The Emerging Role of Exhibitions and Critics by
Call Number: Art Library, N6450.A79 1982
From the classicists to the impressionists: a documentary history of art and architecture in the 19th century. by
Call Number: Art Library, 709.03 H742F
Primary sources in translation.
The expanding world of art, 1874-1902 by
Call Number: Art Library, N 6450.E97 1988 vol. 1
Primary sources of universal expositions and state-sponsored fine arts exhibitions.
Triumph of Art for the Public: the emerging role of exhibitions and critics. by
Call Number: Art Library, N 6450.H62