Background & Context
Dictionary of Maya Hieroglyphs by Call Number: Main Library, F1435.3.W75 M66 2002ISBN: 0781808626This authoritative work is the first visual dictionary of Maya glyphs published since the script's complete deciphering, offering a much-needed, comprehensive catalogue of 1100 secured glyphs. Each entry includes the illustrated glyph, its phonetic transcription, Mayan equivalent, part of speech, and meaning.
The Allure of Nezahualcoyotl by ISBN: 9780826343376Nezahualcoyotl (1402-1472), the "poet-king" of Texcoco, has been described as one of the most important pre-Hispanic figures in Nahua history. Since the conquest, European chroniclers, portraying him as a symbol of Aztec civilization and culture, a wise governor and lawmaker, poet and patron of the arts, and proto-monotheist, misrepresented Nezahualcoyotl. and the culture he represents. Lee provides a new assessment of Nezahualcoyotl that critically examines original codices and poetry written in Nahuatl alongside Spanish chronicles in an effort to paint a more realistic portrait of the legendary Aztec figure. Providing scholars with more accurate picture of pre-Hispanic history, Lee offers a revision of the colonial images of Nahua history and culture.
1491 by Call Number: Main Library, E61 .M266 2005ISBN: 9781400040063A groundbreaking study radically altering understanding of the Americas before the arrival of the Europeans in 1492. Over 30 years of new insights by archaeologists and anthropologists have disproved many long-held assumptions about indigenous people in the Americas.
Searching OBIS
Searching OBIS
Follow links to see the results of these OBIS searches.
1. For Pre-Columbian cultures search the location or the name:
Subject: Aztecs Subject: Aztlán
To increase results, use Keyword searches:
Keyword: (Aztec* or Aztlán)
Then limit results to the location Art Libray to find materials about art, architecture and material culture.
Add "Biography" or "History" to further refine:
Keyword: (Aztec* or Aztlán) and History
Here are the results when Limited to the Art Libray
2. Art by the indigenous peoples of the Americas are also found under the following subject headings which are further sub-divided by location or topic. They cover both the Pre- and the Post-Columbian eras.
Subject: Indian Art Subject: Indian Arts Subject: Indian Artisans Subject: Indian Artists
Examples of other useful subject headings:
Subject: Indian Art from Central America
Subject: Indian art - Mexico
Museums with excellent pre-columbian collections
Museo Nacional de Antropología, Mexico City
In Spanish. The best collection of pre-Columbian Mexican artifacts in the world.
British Museum
Incredible collections from all over the world
Denver Art Museum - Pre-Columbian Art
Dumbarton Oaks Research Library & Collection
A center for pre-Columbian studies in Washington, D.C.
Field Museum, Chicago - Aztec, Inca and Maya Collections
Metropolitan Museum of Art
400,000+ images from the Met's collections for non-commercial use.
Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino
In English and Spanish