Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American biography by
Publication Date: Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2016
Biographies of historically significant people of the Caribbean, and the Afro-descended populations throughout Latin America, including people who spoke and wrote Creole, Dutch, English, French, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Encyclopedia of Native American Jewelry by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, E98.J48 B38 2000
The first encyclopedia to explore the history, variety, as well as quality of Native American jewelry from the mid 1800s to end of the 20th c. Covers the work of individual artists, techniques, materials, motifs, etc.
Encyclopedia of Native American Artists by
Call Number: Art Library, N6538.A4 E94 2008
Examines the lives and works of approximately 70 Indigenous North American artists, demonstrating a range of media, themes, and experiences and their influences on and from western culture. They work in diverse media, some of which are considered art (sculpture, painting, photography), while others have been considered craft (works on cloth, basketry, ceramics). Some position themselves as Native artists, while others produce art not connected to a particular cultural tradition.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by
Call Number: Main Library, E76.2 .E53 1996
Correcting many long-standing misperceptions, this encyclopedia explains a more authentic - and often surprising - portrait of the complexities of the Native American experience. Written by authorities, including many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present. Illustrated with many rare photographs, the Encyclopedia features articles on subjects such as mound builders, reservations, cigar-store Indians, child rearing, powwows, boarding schools, museums and collectors, dreams, the occupation of Alcatraz, and the impact of American Indian civilizations on Europe and the world. Biographies illuminate not only famous chiefs and warriors but an enormously diverse group of historical figures.
Search by Subject for a tribe, people, or culture :
Navajo leads to Navaho Indians
Browse sub-headings under Navajo Indians to focus your topic