Web Resources
- American Musicological Society - WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists The American Musicological Society's wide-ranging guide to online resources in musicology and other subjects, including music therapy, world music, record labels, and library directories.
- The Hiphop Archive A research institute devoted to the study, preservation, creation, and representation of Hiphop. In addition to its research initiatives, The Hiphop Archive collects all forms of related material culture, including recordings, videos, websites, publications, and original papers. The Archive's website includes introductions to Hiphop scholarship, terminology, bibliographies, video from panels and discussions, and more.
- IASPM (International Association for the Study of Popular Music) IASPM supports scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music, from interdisciplinary perspectives such as musicology, sociology, cultural anthropology, literary and cultural studies. The site includes bibliographies, book reviews, and links related to popular music studies.
- Playbill Vault A database of information on over 10,000 Broadway shows, actors, and production crews (1930-present): search by title, person, theatre, or season.
- Rap and Hip Hop Resources A selective bibliography for research in rap music and hip hop culture. Maintained by Center for Black Music Research, Columbia College, Chicago
- Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum: Library and Archives The Library and Archives of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame "collects materials relating to the history of rock and roll and related music genres, including blues, R&B, country, gospel, soul, and hip hop; Hall of Fame inductees and other significant artists; and relevant subjects such as the music business and music criticism."
Research Guides
Afro-Brazilian Music: A Bibliographic Guide by
Its central focus is four distinct but intertwined categories of black vernacular culture¿secular and Afro-Catholic festivals such as Carnival, bumba-meu-boi, and Folia de Reis, each of which has music and dance as a central component; the music, dances and ensembles associated with them, e.g. the afoxés and blocos afro of Bahian Carnival; folk and popular music idioms from jongo and capoeira to samba, rap and funk; and the liturgical musics of Afro-Brazilian religions, e.g. Candomblé, Umbanda, Xango.
Call Number: Con Ref ML120.B7 G73 2014ISBN: 0984413448Publication Date: 2014
Carnival, Calypso and Steel Pan: A Bibliographic Guide to Popular Music of the English-Speaking Caribbean and Its Diaspora by
Offers an in-depth guide to the large body of materials available on masquerade and popular music traditions of the English-speaking Caribbean. Comprised of some 3400 annotated entries it documents a literature, both popular and scholarly.
Call Number: Con Ref ML120.C25 G73 2015ISBN: 0984413456Publication Date: 2015-04-10
ebooks - Oberlin login required
Search for more ebooks at Oberlin
Many thanks to Rebecca Belford for her help with the above information!
Useful Subject Headings
- African American country musicians
- African American disc jockeys
- African American guitarists
- African American rock musicians
- African American women rock musicians
- Ragtime music--History and criticism
- Rap (Music)--History and criticism
- Rap (Music)--History and criticism AND KEYWORD: hip hop
- Rap (Music)--Social aspects
Many thanks to Rebecca Belford for her help with the above information!
Encyclopedias
Caribbean Popular Music: An Encyclopedia of Reggae, Mento, Ska, Rock Steady, and Dancehall by
Reggae music is more than just steel drum bands on white sand beaches. Its history is rich with culture and evolution, helping to tell the story of Jamaica's past. Due to its depth and extensive coverage, this book is the most complete and up to date encyclopedia about reggae, mento, ska, rocksteady, and dancehall music on the market today. Ideal for reggae lovers and college students studying music, this encyclopedia is comprehensive for high school students and non-music students as well. From Bob Marley to Wayne Wonder, this easy to use encyclopedia contains over 700 entries. Indices in both the front and back of the book make navigating through entries extremely user-friendly. Entries cover singers and songwriters, producers, record labels, and different styles of music that evolved from reggae. Moskowitz truly captures the history and evolution of Jamaican music in this extensive, illuminating encyclopedia, while all the while making it accessible to both high school and college students.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.P66 M67 2006ISBN: 0313331588Publication Date: 2005
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, over 20 years in the making, is a landmark reference work in its field. Each volume, authored by top contributors from around the world, includes discussions on cultural, historical and geographic origins; technical musical characteristics; instrumentation and use of voice; lyrics and
language; typical features of performance and presentation; historical development and paths and modes of dissemination; influence of technology, the music industry and political and economic circumstances; changing stylistic features; notable and influential performers; and relationships to other genres and sub-genres.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.P66 C66 2003 v.1-8ISBN: 0826463215Publication Date: 2003-2012
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by
This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. In addition to thousands of biographical entries, this A-Z reference also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record lables, venues, and festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.
ISBN: 9780195313734Publication Date: 2009
Historical Dictionary of Popular Music by
The Historical Dictionary of Popular Music contains a chronology, an introduction, an appendix, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1000 cross-referenced entries on major figures across genres, definitions of genres, technical innovations and surveys of countries and regions.
Call Number: con Ref ML102.P66 A25 2017ISBN: 9781538102145Publication Date: 2017-05-25
The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia of Rock and Roll by
The Rolling Stone Encyclopedia Of Rock & Roll is the authoritative volume on the world's music makers--from the one-hit wonders to the megastars. Accompanying the biographical and discographical information on the nearly 2,000 artists included in this edition are incisive essays that reveal the performers' musical influences, first breaks, and critical and commercial hits and misses, as well as evaluations of their place in rock history.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.R6 R64 2001ISBN: 0743201205Publication Date: 2001
Hip Hop
Blues, Funk, Rhythm and Blues, Soul, Hip Hop, and Rap by
Comprehensive and fully annotated reference tool that covers the wide range of genres.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.P63 M43 2010ISBN: 0415973198Publication Date: 2010
Hip-hop Studies: An International Bibliography and Resource Guide by
Comprised of more than 7000 entries it encompasses both the early journalistic and popular writing on the subject as well as the wealth of scholarship that has emerged since the mid-1990s. The book concludes with an extensive reference section that offers a list of Sources Consulted, a guide to relevant Libraries and Archives, two appendices, and separate Author and Subject Indexes.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.R28 G73 2016ISBN: 0984413464Publication Date: 2016
The Rough Guide to Hip-Hop by
Updated and expanded, covers every aspect of the music, tracing its story from its origins in the 1970s as New York's urban folk music all the way to hip-hop's current dominance as the world's best-selling genre. Extensive biographies cover hip-hop's entire spectrum.
ISBN: 1843532638Publication Date: 2005-05-16
