Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African-American Traditions in Song, Sermon, Tale, and Dance, 1600s-1920 by The 2,328 entries identify books, articles, sermons, pamphlets, and broadsides, among other formats, all centered on black folk culture with emphasis on the manifestations of that culture from 1600 to 1920 through song, dance, games, sermons, and illustrations. The bibliography is divided into four major chronological sections: Colonial-Federalist, Antebellum, Post-Emancipation, and Early Twentieth Century. A fifth section, The WPA Slave Narrative Collection, includes materials (collected in the 1930s) that are essential to a serious discussion of American slavery. Within these five sections materials are classified as literature, artwork, and/or collections. Literature and artwork subsections are further divided into social activities, religious experience, song, and tale. Iconographical entries often compliment the literary ones and some themes run throughout the book. The materials are indexed by names of authors and artists, by subject, and by first lines of songs.
Call Number: Con Ref Z5956.A47S68 1990
Publication Date: 1990-09-11
Folk Song Index by Based on her own collection of books, scores, and recordings, Brunnings gave each item an accession number as she painstakingly recorded the contents for her index. Brunnings’s collection became the core of the Folk Song Society of Greater Boston’s (FSSGB) library
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.F75 B83
Publication Date: 1981-08-01
An Index to African-American Spirituals for the Solo Voice by The spirituals are neatly organized in four indexes: a title index, first line index, alternate title index and a topical index that includes twenty major categories. A bibliography of indexed sources serves as a guide for further research.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S4 A27 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Spirituals: a multidisciplinary bibliography for research and performance by This annotated bibliography documents articles, books, and dissertations published since 1920. Of those, 150 are books; 80 are chapters within books; 615 are journal articles, and 150 are dissertations, along with a selection of highly significant items published before 1920. The most recent publications included date from early 2014. Disciplines researched include music, literature and poetry, American history, religion, and African American Studies.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S4 A272 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Africana Databases that Contain Music Information
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
African Journals Online Use African Journals OnLine (AJOL) to find articles written by scholars on the continent of Africa. Although there are not many articles on the art of Africa it is still an important place to check.
Black Studies Center Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Oxford African American Studies Center African American and African history and culture including biographies, topical entries, primary source documents with commentary, images, maps, charts, tables, and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Chinese Studies, Environmental Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, and Political Science. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
Music Research Databases
RILM Full Text Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals RIPM Jazz Periodicals is a collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines published. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and partner libraries, RIPM Jazz Periodicals is an essential documentary resource that chronicles American jazz culture as seen through the eyes of its contemporaries. (Dates of coverage: 1914-2000)
RIPM – With Full Text Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.