Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Research Databases
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in the arts and humanities disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
Musical America Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
Music Index Online Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Music Industry Data A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
Music Magazine Archive Music Magazine Archive is a series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles.
RILM Full Text Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals RIPM Jazz Periodicals is a collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines published. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and partner libraries, RIPM Jazz Periodicals is an essential documentary resource that chronicles American jazz culture as seen through the eyes of its contemporaries. (Dates of coverage: 1914-2000)
RIPM – With Full Text Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Africana Databases that Contain Music Information
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
African Journals Online Use African Journals OnLine (AJOL) to find articles written by scholars on the continent of Africa. Although there are not many articles on the art of Africa it is still an important place to check.
Black Studies Center Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Oxford African American Studies Center African American and African history and culture including biographies, topical entries, primary source documents with commentary, images, maps, charts, tables, and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Chinese Studies, Environmental Studies, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, and Political Science. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
Fire Music by Organized by subject and artist, the over 7,100 sources are further divided by type of materials, including films, video, and audio cassettes as well as books, dissertations, and journal and newspaper articles in all major Western languages. A New Jazz Chronology places events in the jazz world in a social, political, and musical context; and a section on African-American Cultural History and the Arts provides background materials. Appendixes offer general reference sources, a directory of archives and research centers, and lists that classify artists by country and instrument. Indexes of artists, subjects, and authors complete the work.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.J3G7 1991
Publication Date: 1991-09-25
Jazz Books in the 1990s by Jazz Books in the 1990s: An Annotated Bibliography contains over 700 entries covering adult non-fiction books on jazz published from 1990 through 1999. Entries are organized by category, including biographies, history, individual instruments, essays and criticism, musicology, regional studies, discographies, and reference works. Three indexes--by title, author, and subject--make this a valuable and comprehensive reference guide.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.J3 H63 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Miles Davis : A Research and Information Guide by This research and information guide provides a wide range of scholarship on the life, career, and musical legacy of Miles Davis, and is compiled for an interdisciplinary audience of scholars in jazz and popular music, musicology, and cultural studies.
Call Number: Con Ref ML134.D254 H46 2018
Publication Date: 2017
ebooks - Oberlin login required
Browse the books in the Conservatory Collection under ML156 to find discographies. This call number contains discographies by performers, labels, genre, etc. The title below represents an example of these types of books, but there are many more in the library.
Women in Jazz: A Discography of Instrumentalists, 1913-1968 by Presents a complete picture of women instrumentalists' recording activity from 1913 to 1968.' Jan Leder also shows the significant contributions made by women in jazz and their involvement playing jazz since its beginnings.
Call Number: Con Ref ML156.4.J3 L44 1985
Publication Date: 1985-10-22
Streamed Jazz Audio
Naxos Music Library: Jazz Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
Blues & Jazz Collections and Archives
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz by Arranged alphabetically according to last name, each entry of this book chronologically lists the highlights of every jazz musician's career.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.J3 F4 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of the Blues (ebook) by A full-length, authoritative encyclopaedia on the Blues as a musical form, this A-Z resource covers not only the performers, but also musical styles, regions, record labels and cultural aspects of the blues, including race and gender issues. Special attention is paid to discographies and bibliographies.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.B6 E53 2006 (also available in print)
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition is the largest, most comprehensive and accurate reference work on jazz ever published, putting the world of jazz at your fingertips. With articles on every aspect of the field, from jazz groups, composers and arrangers to instruments, terms,record labels and venues, the new edition is the ideal companion for scholars and enthusiasts in this rapidly growing field.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.J3 N48 2002 v.1-3
Publication Date: 2003
Virgin Encyclopedia of Jazz by Contains over 3,500 entries detailing every artist who has had an impact on the development of Jazz. Legends such as Ella, Duke, Bird and Miles are described alongside modern-day artists including John Scofield, Dave Holland and Norah Jones.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.J3 V58 2004
Publication Date: 2004