Research Guides
Spirituals: a multidisciplinary bibliography for research and performance by
This annotated bibliography documents articles, books, and dissertations published since 1920. Of those, 150 are books; 80 are chapters within books; 615 are journal articles, and 150 are dissertations, along with a selection of highly significant items published before 1920. The most recent publications included date from early 2014. Disciplines researched include music, literature and poetry, American history, religion, and African American Studies.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S4 A272 2015ISBN: 0895797992Publication Date: 2015-01-01- A Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King, Jr by In 1983, Ronald Reagan signed into law a federal holiday to honor Martin Luther King, Jr. Three years later, the holiday was first formally observed by the federal government. In response to the growing number of musical celebrations surrounding the holiday, Anthony McDonald published in 1996 the first edition of The Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King, Jr. Now, more than a decade since its second edition in 1999, McDonald presents his definitive third edition of the catalog. McDonald organizes information on music suitable for concert performances by symphony orchestras, school music departments, church choirs, or solo performers, including works that celebrate not only Martin Luther King Day, but Black History Month as well. His selections comprise musical work written to honor King, as well as other Americans engaged in the struggle for equality and freedom such as Abraham Lincoln, Malcolm X, Harriet Tubman, Frederick Douglass, and John F. Kennedy. McDonald also incorporates works that more broadly address African American history and culture, such as William Grant Still's Afro-American Symphony. This third edition contains a considerable number of revisions, updates, and new work and includes entirely new sections devoted to jazz and blues songs, sample programs of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day concerts, and a discography, along with appendixes of works listed by orchestration, subject, and a list of publishers and sources. A Catalog of Music Written in Honor of Martin Luther King Jr. is the ideal tool for symphony orchestras, choruses, music departments, and other performing groups and organizations seeking to present concerts that celebrate Martin Luther King Jr., his legacy, and African American history more broadly.Call Number: Con Ref ML128.B45 C38 2012ISBN: 9780810881983Publication Date: 2011-12-16
Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music by
The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music is the first comprehensive reference to cover this important American musical form. Coverage includes all aspects of both African-American and white gospel from history and performers to recording techniques and styles as well as the influence of gospel on different musical genres and cultural trends.
Call Number: Con Ref ML102.G6 E63 2005ISBN: 0415941792Publication Date: 2005-09-29- Jazz Bibliography: international literature on jazz, blues, spirituals, gospel and ragtime music with a selected list of works on the social and cultural background from the beginning to the present by Includes international literature on jazz, blues, spirituals, gospel and ragtime music with a selected list of works on the social and cultural background from the beginning to the presentCall Number: Con Ref ML128.J3H433ISBN: 3598102054Publication Date: 1900-04-01
- Afro-American Religious Music by Bibliography covering general history, culture, anthropology, and sociology; ethnomusicology, dance, and folklore; African and Afro-American folksongs; religious folksongs; black religion; and the Caribbean. A catalog of compositions by gospel composers follows.Call Number: Con Ref ML128.S4J3ISBN: 0313205604Publication Date: 1979-06-28
- Gospel Music Encyclopedia by Includes individual performers, groups, songwriters and musicians as possible along with some of their personal narratives.Call Number: Con Ref ML102.G6A5ISBN: 0806901756Publication Date: 1979-11-01
ebooks - Oberlin login required
Gospel Music History and Criticism
Search for more ebooks at Oberlin
Many thanks to Rebecca Belford for her help with the above information!
Useful Subject Headings
- African American gospel singers
- Gospel music -- History and criticism
- Gospel musicians
- Gospel singers
Many thanks to Rebecca Belford for her help with the above information!
Music Research Databases
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in the arts and humanities disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
- Musical America This link opens in a new window Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new window Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Music This link opens in a new window A series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles. Note: Oberlin only has access to Music Magazine Archive through this platform, not the full Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.
- Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale (RIdIM) International association for the recording and development of music and dance performances in the field of visual arts and crafts.
- RILM Full Text This link opens in a new window Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
- RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window RIPM Jazz Periodicals is a collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines published. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and partner libraries, RIPM Jazz Periodicals is an essential documentary resource that chronicles American jazz culture as seen through the eyes of its contemporaries. (Dates of coverage: 1914-2000)
- RIPM – With Full Text This link opens in a new window Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
- RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales This link opens in a new window An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Ebooks
- Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music by The Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music is the first comprehensive reference to cover this important American musical form. Coverage includes all aspects of both African-American and white gospel from history and performers to recording techniques and styles as well as the influence of gospel on different musical genres and cultural trends.ISBN: 0415941792Publication Date: 2005-09-29
Africana Databases that Contain Music Information
- African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new window More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
- African Journals Online This link opens in a new window Use African Journals OnLine (AJOL) to find articles written by scholars on the continent of Africa. Although there are not many articles on the art of Africa it is still an important place to check.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window African American and African history and culture including biographies, topical entries, primary source documents with commentary, images, maps, charts, tables, and more.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, and Political Science. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.