Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music - Citation

Introduction

This guide will assist with formatting music citations using the Chicago style. For more info, consult Chicago Manual online at:  https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html

Journal Article or Grove Article

Journal Article

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

5David Wyn Jones, "The Symphony in Beethoven's Vienna," Notes 64, no. 2 (December 2007): 275.

Bibliography Entry:

Jones, David Wyn. “The Symphony in Beethoven’s Vienna.Notes  64, no. 2 (December 2007): 273-275.

---------------------------------------------

Article from Grove Music Online Electronic Database

Footnote/Endnote First Reference Entry:

3Malcolm Gillies, “Bartók, Béla, §1: 1881–1903, "Grove Music Online, accessed May 20, 2009, Oxford Music Online.

Bibliography Entry:

Gillies, Malcolm. “Bartók, Béla, §1: 1881–1903." In Grove Music Online. Accessed May 20, 2009. Oxford Music Online.

Books

Book with One Author

Footnote/Endnote First Reference Entry:

12Oliver Sachs, Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain (New York: Knopf, 2007), 53.

Bibliography Entry:

Sachs, Oliver. Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain. New York: Knopf, 2007.

---------------------------------------------

Book with Two or Three Authors

Footnote/Endnote First Reference Entry:

15Leonie E. Naylor, Mary Haynes, and Michael Lee Naylor, Our Musical World: Creative Insights into a Planet’s Cultural Diversity (Ann Arbor, MI: Visions & Vibrations International, 2008), 59.

Bibliography Entry:

Naylor, Leonie E., Mary Haynes, and Michael Lee Naylor. Our Musical World: Creative Insights into a Planet’s Cultural Diversity. Ann Arbor, MI: Visions & Vibrations International, 2008.

---------------------------------------------

Book with Editor or Translator in Addition to Author

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

         21Berthold Litzmann, Clara Schumann: An Artist’s Life, trans. Grace E. Hadow (New York: Vienna House, 1972), 202.

Bibliography Entry:

Litzmann, Berthold. Clara Schumann: An Artist’s Life. Translated by Grace E. Hadow. New York: Vienna House, 1972.

---------------------------------------------

Thesis or dissertation

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

  1. Jeffery L. Ames, "A Pioneering Twentieth-Century African-American Musician: The Choral Works of George T. Walker." (PhD diss., Florida State University, 2005).

Bibliography Entry:

Ames, Jeffery L. "A Pioneering Twentieth-Century African-American Musician: The Choral Works of George T. Walker." PhD diss., Florida State University, 2005.

---------------------------------------------

Chapter or Part of an Edited Collection with Various Authored Chapters

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

32Herta Blaukopf, “Mahler as Conductor in the Opera House and in the Concert Hall,” in The Cambridge Companion to Mahler, ed. Jeremy Barham (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007), 298.

Bibliography Entry:

Blaukopf, Herta. “Mahler as Conductor in the Opera House and in the Concert Hall.” In The Cambridge Companion to Mahler, edited by Jeremy Barham, 278-302. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007.

---------------------------------------------

Chapter from a Single-Authored Book

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

32Peter C. Bouteneff "Music Found in Silence." In Arvo Pärt Out of Silence, (Yonkers, New York: St Vladimir's Seminary Press, 2015), 95-102. 

Bibliography Entry:

Bouteneff, Peter C. "Music Found in Silence." In Arvo Pärt Out of Silence. Yonkers, New York: St Vladimir's Seminary Press, 2015.

 

Sound Recording & Liner Notes

Sound Recording - Complete Work/Recording

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

5Gustav Mahler, Symphony no. 9, Berlin Philharmonic, conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, EMI 50999 501228 20, 2008, compact disc.

 

Bibliography Entry:

Mahler, Gustav. Symphony no. 9. Berlin Philharmonic. Conducted by Sir Simon Rattle. EMI 50999 501228 20. 2008, compact disc.

---------------------------------------------

Sound Recording from a Streaming Service (Naxos Music Library)

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

9 Johannes Brahms, Symphony no.1 in C minor, op. 68, London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Neeme Jarvi, Complete Symphonies, Chandos CHAN9776-79, 1999, compact disc, accessed May 15, 2009. Naxos Music Library.

 

Bibliography Entry:

Brahms, Johannes. Symphony no. 1 in C minor, op. 68. London Symphony Orchestra. Conducted by Neeme Jarvi. Complete Symphonies. Chandos CHAN9776-79. 1999. Accessed May 15, 2009. Naxos Music Library.

---------------------------------------------

Liner Notes from a Sound Recording

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

10Stephan Perreau, Liner Notes, Clara Schumann (1819-1896): Piano Music, Yoshiko Iwai (piano), Naxos 8.553501, 1999, compact disc.

 

Bibliography Entry:

Perreau, Stephan. Liner Notes. Clara Schumann (1819-1896): Piano Music. Yoshiko Iwai (piano). Naxos 8.553501, 1999, compact disc.

Website, Blog Entry or Comment

 

Website

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

3“Elgar: His Works – The Apostles, op. 49,” The Elgar Society, Accessed November 4, 2013, http://www.elgar.org/3apostle.htm.

 

Bibliography Entry:

The Elgar Society. “Elgar: His Works – The Apostles, op. 49.” Accessed November 4, 2013. http://www.elgar.org/3apostle.htm.

---------------------------------------------

Blog Entry or Comment

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

 1Alex Ross, "Music As a Weapon," The Rest Is Noise (blog), June 27, 2016, accessed July 1, 2016, http://www.therestisnoise.com/2016/06/music-as-a-weapon.html.

Bibliography Entry:

Ross, Alex. "Music As a Weapon." The Rest Is Noise (blog). June 27, 2016. Accessed July 1, 2016. http://www.therestisnoise.com/2016/06/music-as-a-weapon.html.

Scores

Score – Complete Work

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

5Darius Milhaud, La Création du Monde (Paris: M. Eschig, 1929).

Bibliography Entry:

Milhaud, Darius. La Création du Monde. Paris: M. Eschig, 1929.

---------------------------------------------

Score – Portion of a Work

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

7Gabriel Fauré and Paul Verlaine, “L’hiver est cessé,” in La Bonne Chanson: Nine Songs on Poems by Verlaine (New York: International Music Company, 1954).

Bibliography Entry:

Fauré, Gabriel and Paul Verlaine. “L’hiver est cessé.” In La Bonne Chanson: Nine Songs on Poems by Paul Verlaine. New York: International Music Company, 1954.

---------------------------------------------

Monuments of Music Scores

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Carlo Pallavicino, La Gerusalemme liberata, ed. Hermann Abert, Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst 55 (Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1916).

Bibliography Entry:

Eccles, John. Semele: An Opera. Edited by Richard Platt. Music Britannica: A National Collection of Music 76. London: Stainer and Bell, 2000.

---------------------------------------------

Monument with no editor for the volume

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Guillaume de MachautThe Works of Guillaume de Machaut, Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century, ed. Leo Schradevols. 2-3* (Monaco: Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, 1956).

*Since the works of Machaut span the 2nd and 3rd volumes of the series, we acknowledge both volumes by inserting "2-3."

Bibliography Entry:

Machaut, Guillaume de. The Works of Guillaume de Machaut. Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century, edited by Leo Schrade, vols. 2-3*. Monaco: Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, 1956.

---------------------------------------------

Collected Editions of Composers

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Johann Hermann ScheinCantional oder Gesangbuch Augsburgischer Konfession 1627/1645 Teil 1, ed. Adam Adrio, vol. 2 of Johann Hermann Schein neue Ausgabe samtlicher Werke, ed. Adam Adrio (KasselBarenreiter, 1965).

Bibliography Entry:

Verdi, Giuseppe. Il TrovatoreLibretto by Salvadore Cammarano. Edited by David Lawton. Series 1, vol. 18a., Works of Giuseppe Verdi, edited by Philip Gossett. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1992.