News
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 (1827-1998)Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Included in America's Historical Newspapers. Included in America's Historical Newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
- African American Newspapers, Series 2, (1835-1956)Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Included in America's Historical Newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1835-1956.
- African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new windowMore than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Includes index to Black Literature (1827-1940), Black Studies Periodical Database, and the full text backfile (1910-2010) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
- New York Times (1851 - 2018) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
Web resources
- The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University
An onging effort to reconstruct the life of the civil rights leader. Includes interviews with Malcolm's contemporaries, archival video footage of Malcolm, and FBI files. - Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project at Stanford University
The principal mission of this project is to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. The seven already published volumes have become essential reference works for researchers and have influenced scholarship about King and the movements he inspired.
The Lost Tapes: Malcolm X (Smithsonian Channel)
In 1959, a 33-year-old minister from the Nation of Islam gains notoriety with his fiery rhetoric and keen intellect. His name is Malcolm X and over the next five years, this influential yet highly controversial civil rights leader will become an ideological hero to some and a dangerous enemy to others. Presented entirely through his speeches, newscasts, and rarely seen archival footage, The Lost Tapes: Malcolm X tells the story of the man who, by any means necessary, willingly put his life at risk to bring change and equality to black America.
Other Primary Sources
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- NAACP Papers (1909-1970) This link opens in a new windowInternal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the NAACP, including papers of prominent individuals.
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database This link opens in a new windowTrack the journeys of over 67,000 Africans forced into slavery with this searchable database of passenger records from 35,000 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages.
- Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow SouthA selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary SourcesProvides a rich array of primary source material on African American efforts to secure civil and human rights – from slavery and abolition to the contemporary era.
- Black Lives MatterBlack Lives Matter Foundation, Inc. is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives.
- Digital Schomburg
Identifies trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience. Users can find citations to exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links on the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora. - The Malcolm X Project at Columbia UniversityAn onging effort to reconstruct the life of the civil rights leader. Includes interviews with Malcolm's contemporaries, archival video footage of Malcolm, and FBI files.
- Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project at Stanford UniversityThe principal mission of this project is to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts. The seven already published volumes have become essential reference works for researchers and have influenced scholarship about King and the movements he inspired.