Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to find ebooks in the library?
In addition to the print books in the science library, there are thousands of e-books accessible through in OBIS. Just click on the ebooks tab to limit your search to books accessible online, in electronic or digital format.
You can search for all of our eBook content in Summon, or search specific the specific databases below.
List of Print Books for Reference
Religions of Asia in Practice by
Publication Date: 2002-04-14
The acclaimed volumes of Princeton Readings in Religions present the remarkable range of all that is encompassed in the practice of religions, across the centuries and across the world.
Sources of Chinese Tradition by
Call Number: DS721.D37 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-27
A collection of seminal primary readings on the social, intellectual, and religious traditions of China, Sources of Chinese Tradition, Volume 1 has been widely used and praised for almost forty years as an authoritative resource for scholars and students and as a thorough and engaging introduction for general readers.
Sources of East Asian Tradition by
Call Number: DS509.3.S677 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-15
In Sources of East Asian Tradition, Wm. Theodore de Bary offers a selection of essential readings from his immensely popular anthologies Sources of Chinese Tradition, Sources of Korean Tradition, and Sources of Japanese Tradition so readers can experience a concise but no less comprehensive portrait of the social, intellectual, and religious traditions of East Asia. Volume 1 samples writings from the earliest times to 1600, illuminating life in early China and the first imperial age, as well as the profound impact of Daoism, Buddhism, the Confucian revival, and Neo-Confucianism; the origins of Korean culture and political structures, up through the Choson dynasty; and major developments in early and medieval Japan.
Sources of Japanese Tradition by
Call Number: DS821.S68 2006
Publication Date: 2001-05-07
Sources of Japanese Tradition is a best-selling classic, unrivaled for its wide selection of source readings on history, society, politics, education, philosophy, and religion in the Land of the Rising Sun.
Sources of Korean Tradition by
Call Number: DS904.S69 1997
Publication Date: 1996-11-21
Drawn from Peter H. Lee's Sourcebook of Korean Civilization, Volume I, this abridged introductory collection offers students and general readers primary readings in the social, intellectual, and religious traditions of Korea from ancient times through the sixteenth century. Sources of Korean Tradition is arranged according to the major epochs of Korean history, including sections on: Korean culture - its origins, writing, education, poetry, song, social life, and rituals; religion - the rise of Buddhism and Confucianism; the economy - the land, agriculture, commerce, and currency; and its changing political structures.
List of eBooks for Reference
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions by
Publication Date: 2000-12-14
Abridged from the acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of World Religions, this is the most comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of religion available in paperback.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
This encyclopedia is a historically focused work that provides an introduction to the doctrinal, ethical, social and spiritual ideas that inform the various traditions of Buddhism and the changes they have undergone over more that 2500 years.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by
Publication Date: 2013-11-24
It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Unlike reference works that focus on a single Buddhist language or school, The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
A compilation of Buddhist terminologies, temples, schools, persons etc that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many different Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
Oxford bibliographies - Buddhism
Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
Oxford Handbooks Online
An Oxford Handbook advances an original conception of the field through a definitive collection of essays, each of which provides a survey of the current state of scholarly debate and an original argument about the future direction of research. The handbooks cover economics, and politics.
Academic ebook collections
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1700 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses.
Duke University Press Scholarly Books
Full text access to over 2,300 Duke University Press ebooks in the social sciences and humanities.
eBook Central (ProQuest)
Provides access to full-text electronic editions of 150,000 ebooks from 750+ publishers, 1,500 imprints. Search by specifying subjects, keywords, authors, publishers, publication years, or other information available for the documents. Many titles are leased.
eBooks Collection (EBSCO)
Searchable full text books in a variety of subject areas.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)
The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly. These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.
Project MUSE (partial access)
Journals and books by university presses and scholarly societies; most subjects in the in the humanities and social sciences.
A full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform
E-books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Includes many programming language manuals from O'Reilly, Pearson, and others. Also offers many videos, case studies, and tutorials. Note: Requires authentication with an @oberlin.edu email address.
Springer eBook Collection
Full text access in HTML and PDF formats to the the electronic versions of books published by Springer. Content covers the topic areas of Architecture and Design; Behavioral Science; Biomedical and Life Sciences; Business and Economics; Chemistry and Materials Science; Computer Science; Earth and Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences and Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Medicine; Physics and Astronomy; and, Professional Computing & Web Design.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)
Aggregates monograph content from partner university presses, making disparately published scholarship accessible, discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform. (Dates of coverage: 2012 - present)
Wiley Online Library
Books and journals published by Wiley-Blackwell, with broad multidisciplinary coverage.