Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General DIctionaries & Encyclopedias
The Routledge Companion to Film History by The Routledge Companion to Film History is an indispensable guide for anyone studying film history for the first time. The approach taken presents a substantial and readable overview of the field and provides students with a tool of reference that will be valuable throughout their studies. The volume is divided into two parts. The first is a set of eleven essays that approaches film history around the following themes: History of the moving image Film as art and popular culture Production process Evolution of sound Alternative modes: experimental, documentary, animation Cultural difference Film's relationship to history The second is a critical dictionary that explains concepts, summarizes debates in film studies, defines technical terms, describes major periods and movements, and discusses historical situations and the film industry. The volume as a whole is designed as an active system of cross-references: readers of the essays are referred to dictionary entries (and vice versa) and both provide short bibliographies that encourage readers to investigate topics.
Publication Date: 2010-10-20
The Oxford History of World Cinema by From its humble beginnings as a novelty in a handful of cities, cinema has risen to become a billion- dollar industry and the most spectacular and original contemporary art form. It has spread to all parts of the globe, and is enjoyed by audiences that cut across all sections of society.The Oxford History of World Cinema traces the history of this enduringly popular entertainment medium. Covering all aspects of its development, stars, studios, and cultural impact, the book celebrates and chronicles over one hundred years of diverse achievement from westerns to the New Wave, fromanimation to the Avant-Garde, and from Hollywood to Hong Kong. An international team of distinguished film historians tells the story of the major inventions and developments in the cinema business, its institutions, genres, and personnel; other chapters outline the evolution of national cinemasround the world - the varied and distinctive filmic traditions that have developed alongside Hollywood. A unique aspect of the book are the special inset features on the film-makers and personalities - Garbo and Godard, Keaton and Kurosawa, Bugs Bunny and Bergman - who have had an enduring impact inpopular memory and cinematic lore. With over 300 illustrations, a full bibliography, and an extensive index, this is the buff's ultimate guide to cinema worldwide.
Publication Date: 1996-11-06
A Dictionary of Film Studies by A Dictionary of Film Studies covers all aspects of its discipline as it is currently taught at undergraduate level. Offering exhaustive and authoritative coverage, this A-Z is written by experts in the field, and covers terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism; national, international, and transnational cinemas; film history, movements, and genres; film industry organizations and practices; and key technical terms and concepts. Since its first publication in 2012, the dictionary has been updated to incorporate over 40 new entries, including computer games and film, disability, ecocinema, identity, portmanteau film, Practice as Research, and film in Vietnam. Moreover, numerous revisions have been made to existing entries to account for developments in the discipline, and changes to film institutions more generally. Indices of films and filmmakers mentioned in the text are included for easy access to relevant entries. The dictionary also has 13 feature articles on popular topics and terms, revised and informative bibliographies for most entries, and more than 100 web links to supplement the text.
Publication Date: 2020-07-12
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, Robert Altman is featured in the article on "Sound"). Additional features include a comprehensive index; a list of further reading sources; 350 black-and-white and 150 full color photographs; and more.
Publication Date: 2006
International Directory of Films and Filmmakers by Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
French Film Reference Sources
French-Speaking Women Film Directors by This work is intended both as a teaching tool and as a reference for film and literature courses. It contains a list of three hundred francophone women directors from all over the world, and the titles of their films. Dates, descriptions, and critical comments on many of the films are included, as well as a glossary of film terms, questions for film analysis, sample syllabi, and an extensive bibliography.
Call Number: Main Library PN1998.2 .P28 1997
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
French-Speaking Women Documentarians by French-Speaking Women Documentarians is a guide for teachers of French and others interested in selecting and researching the work of female French-speaking documentarians. Represented in this book are filmmakers from Canada, various African nations, the Antilles, Lebanon, Switzerland, Belgium, and several other countries, with emphasis on Agnès Varda of France - arguably the greatest female documentarian of all. The book includes information on each filmmaker, classified by country of origin, and lists and describes her works, giving factual information such as date, duration, credits, and synopses, and pointing out critical treatments, both in English and in French, of her most important films. Shorts, docudramas, and works of animation are also discussed, as they, too, reflect history and culture. This guide will lead to the viewing of films that shed understanding on the culture being portrayed and to a greater appreciation of the contribution of French-speaking women filmmakers to this important, if not always objective, film genre.
Call Number: Main Library PN1998.2 .P277 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Francophone Women Film Directors by Like its 1997 predecessor, Francophone Women Film Directors: A New Guide is both a teaching tool and a directory for use by scholars and students of film and literature. Unique among guides dealing with film, both for its breadth and for the very fact that it is devoted exclusively to francophone women throughout the world, most of whom are omitted from other directories and studies, this guide contains listings of some three hundred francophone women filmmakers and their films. Whenever possible, dates, brief biographies, descriptions, and brief critical analyses are included. Themes studied include such subjects as abortion, pornography, prostitution, and mother-daughter relationships. A list of film sources and an extensive bibliography, and an index of geographical subdivisions, maximize the directory's usefulness.
Call Number: Main Library PN1998.2 .P27 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Noteworthy Francophone Women Directors by Noteworthy Francophone Women Directors: A Sequel is a comprehensive guide that foregrounds the productions of nearly three hundred Francophone women filmmakers from France, Belgium, Switzerland, Latin American, Québec, and even Thailand. The book begins following films released after the publication of Pallister and Hottell's last volume, Francophone Women Film Directors, in 2005 and stops after the Cannes film festival in 2010.
Call Number: Main Library PN1998.2 .P282 2011
Publication Date: 2011
French Films, 1945-1993 by To the French, the cinema is an art form. At their best, they have established cinema verite, mastered literary filmmaking and film noir, invented the New Wave, and produced such unique and unclassified geniuses as Truffaut and Tati.From Les Enfants du paradis (Children of Paradise), which was made in the shadows of the occupation and opened as the Allies liberated Paris, to such modern films as Les Nuits fauves (Savage Nights), the first major cinematic treatment of AIDS, the 400 films here reflect the broad range of French filmmaking. Organized by French title, with see references from English and alternate titles, each entry includes year of release, cast and production credits, running time, and an essay blending plot synopsis and critical commentary, all fully indexed.
Call Number: Main Library PN1993.5.F7 B52 1996
Publication Date: 1996