Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Baccalaureate Music, Oberlin High School

Introduction

This guide will assist with formatting music citations using the Chicago style. For more info, consult Chicago Manual online at:  https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html

Journal Article or Grove Article

Journal Article

Bibliography Entry:

Jones, David Wyn. “The Symphony in Beethoven’s Vienna.Notes  64, no. 2 (December 2007): 273-275.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

5David Wyn Jones, "The Symphony in Beethoven's Vienna," Notes 64, no. 2 (December 2007): 275.

In-text citation:

(Jones 2007, 275)

---------------------------------------------

Article from Grove Music Online Electronic Database

Bibliography Entry:

Gillies, Malcolm. “Bartók, Béla, §1: 1881–1903." In Grove Music Online. Accessed May 20, 2009. Oxford Music Online.

Footnote/Endnote First Reference Entry:

3Malcolm Gillies, “Bartók, Béla, §1: 1881–1903, "Grove Music Online, accessed May 20, 2009, Oxford Music Online.

In-text citation:

(Gillies, n.d.)

Books & Dissertations

Book with One Author

Bibliography Entry:

          Sachs, Oliver. Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain. New York: Knopf, 2007.

Footnote/Endnote First Reference Entry:

12Oliver Sachs, Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain (New York: Knopf, 2007), 53.

In-text citation:

(Sachs 2007, 53)

 ---------------------------------------------

Book with Two or Three Authors

Bibliography Entry:

Naylor, Leonie E., Mary Haynes, and Michael Lee Naylor. Our Musical World: Creative Insights into a Planet’s Cultural Diversity. Ann Arbor, MI: Visions & Vibrations International, 2008.

Footnote/Endnote First Reference Entry:

15Leonie E. Naylor, Mary Haynes, and Michael Lee Naylor, Our Musical World: Creative Insights into a Planet’s Cultural Diversity (Ann Arbor, MI: Visions & Vibrations International, 2008), 59.

In-text citation:

(Naylor et al. 2008, 59)

---------------------------------------------

Book with Editor or Translator in Addition to Author

Bibliography Entry:

Litzmann, Berthold. Clara Schumann: An Artist’s Life. Translated by Grace E. Hadow. New York: Vienna House, 1972.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

         21Berthold Litzmann, Clara Schumann: An Artist’s Life, trans. Grace E. Hadow (New York: Vienna House, 1972), 202.

In-text citation:

(Litzmann 1972, 202)

---------------------------------------------

Thesis or dissertation

Bibliography Entry:

          Ames, Jeffery L. "A Pioneering Twentieth-Century African-American Musician: The Choral Works of George T. Walker." PhD diss., Florida                State University, 2005.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

  1. Jeffery L. Ames, "A Pioneering Twentieth-Century African-American Musician: The Choral Works of George T. Walker." (PhD diss., Florida State University, 2005), 65.

In-text citation:

(Ames 2005, 65)

---------------------------------------------

Chapter or Part of an Edited Collection with Various Authored Chapters

Bibliography Entry:

Blaukopf, Herta. “Mahler as Conductor in the Opera House and in the Concert Hall.” In The Cambridge Companion to Mahler, edited by Jeremy Barham, 278-302. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

32Herta Blaukopf, “Mahler as Conductor in the Opera House and in the Concert Hall,” in The Cambridge Companion to Mahler, ed. Jeremy Barham (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007), 298.

In-text citation:

(Blaukopf 2007, 298)

---------------------------------------------

Chapter from a Single-Authored Book

Bibliography Entry:

Bouteneff, Peter C. "Music Found in Silence." In Arvo Pärt Out of Silence. Yonkers, New York: St Vladimir's Seminary Press, 2015.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

32Peter C. Bouteneff "Music Found in Silence." In Arvo Pärt Out of Silence, (Yonkers, New York: St Vladimir's Seminary Press, 2015), 95-102. 

In-text citation:

(Bouteneff 2015, 95-102)

 

Sound Recording, Liner Notes, or article from Naxos Musicology

Sound Recording - Complete Work/Recording

Bibliography Entry:

Mahler, Gustav. Symphony no. 9. Berlin Philharmonic. Conducted by Sir Simon Rattle. EMI 50999 501228 20. 2008, compact disc.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

5Gustav Mahler, Symphony no. 9, Berlin Philharmonic, conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, EMI 50999 501228 20, 2008, compact disc.

In-text citation:

(Mahler 2008)

---------------------------------------------

Sound Recording from a Streaming Service (Naxos Music Library)

Bibliography Entry:

Brahms, Johannes. Symphony no. 1 in C minor, op. 68. London Symphony Orchestra. Conducted by Neeme Jarvi. Complete Symphonies. Chandos CHAN9776-79. 1999. Accessed May 15, 2009. Naxos Music Library.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

9 Johannes Brahms, Symphony no.1 in C minor, op. 68, London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Neeme Jarvi, Complete Symphonies, Chandos CHAN9776-79, 1999, compact disc, accessed May 15, 2009. Naxos Music Library.

In-text citation:

(Brahms 1999)

---------------------------------------------

Liner Notes from a Sound Recording or Streamed Audio

Bibliography Entry:

Perreau, Stephan. Liner Notes. Clara Schumann (1819-1896): Piano Music. Yoshiko Iwai (piano). Naxos 8.553501, 1999, compact disc.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

10Stephan Perreau, Liner Notes, Clara Schumann (1819-1896): Piano Music, Yoshiko Iwai (piano), Naxos 8.553501, 1999, compact disc.

In-text citation:

(Perreau 1999)

---------------------------------------------

Article from Naxos

Bibliography Entry:

          Wright, Lesley A. "Werther in Paris: From Rejection to Consecration at the Opéra-Comique." Naxos Musicology International. Naxos Music               Library. February 07, 2021. Accessed February 18, 2021. https://www.naxosmusicology.com/essays/werther-in-paris-from-rejection-to-                   consecration-at-the-op%C3%A9ra-comique/.  

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Lelsey A. Wright. "Werther in Paris: From Rejection to Consecration at the Opéra-Comique." Naxos Musicology International. Naxos Music               Library. February 07, 2021. Accessed February 18, 2021. https://www.naxosmusicology.com/essays/werther-in-paris-from-rejection-to-                   consecration-at-the-op%C3%A9ra-comique/.

In-text citation:

(Wright 2021)

 

Scores

Score – Complete Work

Bibliography Entry:

Milhaud, Darius. La Création du Monde. Paris: M. Eschig, 1929.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

5Darius Milhaud, La Création du Monde (Paris: M. Eschig, 1929).

In-text Citation:

(Milhaud 1929)

---------------------------------------------

Score – Portion of a Work

Bibliography Entry:

Fauré, Gabriel and Paul Verlaine. “L’hiver est cessé.” In La Bonne Chanson: Nine Songs on Poems by Paul Verlaine. New York: International Music Company, 1954.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

7Gabriel Fauré and Paul Verlaine, “L’hiver est cessé,” in La Bonne Chanson: Nine Songs on Poems by Verlaine (New York: International Music Company, 1954).

In-text Citation:

(Fauré and Verlaine 1954)

---------------------------------------------

Score – Introduction or Preface

Bibliography Entry:

Boozer, Mark. Introduction to Three Visions: A Suite for Piano, by William Grant Still, i-iv. Flagstaff, AZ: W. G. Still Music, 2002.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

7Mark Boozer, introduction to Three Visions: A Suite for Piano, by William Grant Still (Flagstaff, AZ: W. G. Still Music, 2002).

In-text Citation:

(Boozer 2002, introduction)

---------------------------------------------

Monuments of Music Scores

Bibliography Entry:

Eccles, John. Semele: An Opera. Edited by Richard Platt. Music Britannica: A National Collection of Music 76. London: Stainer and Bell, 2000.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Carlo Pallavicino, La Gerusalemme liberata, ed. Hermann Abert, Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst 55 (Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1916).

In-text Citation:

(Pallavicino 1916)

 

---------------------------------------------

Monument with no editor for the volume

Bibliography Entry:

Machaut, Guillaume de. The Works of Guillaume de Machaut. Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century, edited by Leo Schrade, vols. 2-3*. Monaco: Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, 1956.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Guillaume de MachautThe Works of Guillaume de Machaut, Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century, ed. Leo Schradevols. 2-3* (Monaco: Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, 1956).

*Since the works of Machaut span the 2nd and 3rd volumes of the series, we acknowledge both volumes by inserting "2-3."

In-text Citation:

(Machaut 1956, 2: 45)

---------------------------------------------

Collected Editions of Composers

Bibliography Entry:

Verdi, Giuseppe. Il TrovatoreLibretto by Salvadore Cammarano. Edited by David Lawton. Series 1, vol. 18a., Works of Giuseppe Verdi, edited by Philip Gossett. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1992

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1Johann Hermann ScheinCantional oder Gesangbuch Augsburgischer Konfession 1627/1645 Teil 1, ed. Adam Adrio, vol. 2 of Johann Hermann Schein neue Ausgabe samtlicher Werke, ed. Adam Adrio (KasselBarenreiter, 1965).

In-text Citation:

(Schein 1965, 2: 98).

Newspaper, Website, Blog Entry, or Comment

Newspaper

Bibliography Entry:

Coscarelli, Joe. "Rock's Not Dead, it's Ruled by Women." New York Times, Sep 3, 2017.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

3Joe Coscarelli, "Rock's Not Dead, it's Ruled by Women" New York Times, Sep 3, 2017.

In-text citation:

(Coscarelli 2017)

 

Website

Bibliography Entry:

The Elgar Society. “Elgar: His Works – The Apostles, op. 49.” Accessed November 4, 2013. http://www.elgar.org/3a

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

3“Elgar: His Works – The Apostles, op. 49,” The Elgar Society, Accessed November 4, 2013, http://www.elgar.org/3apostle.htm.

In-text citation:

(Elgar Society n.d.)

---------------------------------------------

Blog Entry or Comment

Bibliography Entry:

Ross, Alex. "Music As a Weapon."  The Rest is Noise (blog). June 27, 2016. Accessed July 1, 2016. http://www.therestisnoise.com/2016/06/music-as-a-weapon.html.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

 1Alex Ross, "Music As a Weapon," The Rest Is Noise (blog), June 27, 2016, accessed July 1, 2016, http://www.therestisnoise.com/2016/06/music-as-a-weapon.html.

In-text citation:

(Ross 2016)

Streamed Videos, DVDs, or Online Concert

Streamed Video

Bibliography Entry:

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. La Clemenza di Tito. Directed by Harry Bicket. Recorded December 1, 2012. Streaming video. Accessed May 7, 2019. Met Opera on Demand.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. La Clemenza di Tito. Directed by Harry Bicket. Recorded December 1, 2012. Streaming video. Accessed May 7, 2019. Met Opera on Demand.

In-text Citation:

(Mozart 2012, Act I)

---------------------------------------------

DVD

Bibliography Entry:

The Case of the Three Sided Dream, DVD, Directed by Adam Kahan. Berlin: Arthaus Musik, 2016.

 

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1The Case of the Three Sided Dream, DVD, directed by Adam Kahan (Berlin: Arthaus Musik, 2016).

 

In-text Citation:

(The Case of the Three Sided Dream 2016)

---------------------------------------------

Online Concert

Bibliography Entry:

NPR Music. "Lizzo: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert." Filmed July 29, 2019. YouTube video, 16.59. Posted August 5, 2019. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFiLdByWIDY

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

1NPR Music, "Lizzo: NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert," filmed July 29, 2019, YouTube video, 16.59, posted August 5, 2019, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFiLdByWIDY

In-text Citation:

(NPR Music 2019)

Online Interview or Lecture

Interviews

Bibliography Entry:

Dearie, Blossom. "Blossom Dearie: Tiny Voice, Big Impact.” Interview by Terry Gross. WHYY Fresh Air. February 9, 2009. https://freshairarchive.org/topics/women-jazz-singers.

Footnote/Endnote Entry:

Blossom Dearie. "Blossom Dearie: Tiny Voice, Big Impact.” Interview by Terry Gross. WHYY Fresh Air. February 9, 2009. https://freshairarchive.org/topics/women-jazz-singers.

In-text Citation:
(Dearie, interview, 2009)

---------------------------------------------

Lectures

Bibliography Entry:

Kelly, Thomas Forrest. “Introduction to the Symphonie Fantastique.”

Lecture for First Nights - Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique and Program Music in the 19th Century Harvard University EdX Online Courses, March 12, 2021. https://www.edx.org/


Footnote/Endnote Entry:

Thomas Forrest Kelly, “Introduction to the Symphonie Fantastique,” (lecture, First Nights - Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique and Program Music in the 19th Century Harvard University EdX Online Courses, March 12, 2021).

 

In-text Citation:

(Kelly, Introduction to the Symphonie Fantastique,” lecture)

Multiple Citations by the Same Author

When one cites more than one work by the same author, every citation after the first begins with a 3-em dash followed by a period (———.) in place of the author’s name. HINT: To create a 3-em dash in Microsoft Word, press Ctrl+Alt+– on the Number Pad 3 times. To create a 3-em dash on a Mac, press Option + Shift + Dash (-) makes an em dash. Multiple citations by the same author are alphabetized by the title of the work as below.

Price, Florence. Meditation: For Piano Solo. New York, NY: G. Schirmer, Inc., 2020a.

­———. Three Suites for Piano: In the Land o' Cotton; A Day in the Life of a Washerwoman; At Our House. Edited by Barbara Garvey Jackson. Fayetteville, AR: ClarNan Editions, 2016.

———. To a Brown Leaf: For Piano Solo. New York, NY: G. Schirmer, 2020b.

 

In-text Citation:

(Price 2020a)

(Price 2016)

(Price 2020b)