LibGuides: FYSP 165: Feeding the World: Journal Article Sources

What Are Scholarly Articles?

Scholarly articles are published in journals intended for audiences in specific academic disciplines.

Many, but not all, scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.

Prior to publication, peer-reviewed articles are submitted to experts in the field who offer feedback to the author. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).

Not all content in a scholarly journal is peer-reviewed. Other content may include letters and opinion pieces, editorial essays, and reviews of books or other resources.

Other Important Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
AgEcon This link opens in a new window
Research in agricultural and applied economics.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
Population Index (1986-2000) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and other materials on demography and population studies. Other disciplines covered include biology, geography, economics, and sociology. For historical information, the complete publication back to 1935 is searchable in JSTOR. Dates of Coverage: 1986 - 2000 [closed file, no longer updated]

Best Journal Article Database

Web of Science, a multi-discipline resource, includes these databases in one comprehensive search: MEDLINE, BIOSIS, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index, among others. Other MEDLINE options: EbscoHost, PubMed, SciFinder.