Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science by ISBN: 9781414498492Publication Date: 2014-06-06This eight-volume set (available online) covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 0471484946Publication Date: 2004-03-29The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. Kept uptodate online: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/book/10.1002/0471238961
Handbooks, Science Writing
At Least Know This by Call Number: https://obis.oberlin.edu/record=b6713193~S4ISBN: 9781633884052Publication Date: 2018-07-17Science tells us a good deal about who we are, where we come from, the nature of the universe, how our brains work, and much, much more. Unfortunately, most people are largely unaware of this treasure trove of information. As a result, we are more prone to do things like aim nuclear weapons at each other, inflate the meaning of cultural differences, lay waste to the land, poison and deplete the oceans, fill the sky with carbon, and generally make poor judgments that cause needless trouble. This book seeks to remedy this situation by providing scientific answers to the most basic yet important questions about existence.
The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2020 by ISBN: 9780358074298Publication Date: 2020-11-03A collection of the best science and nature writing published in North America in 2019, guest edited by New York Times best-selling author and ground-breaking physicist Dr. Michio Kaku. This is an annually published series, shelved in the Science Library.
The Language of Popular Science by ISBN: 9781476672533Publication Date: 2018-12-26If you read (or write) popular science, you might sometimes wonder: how do the authors manage to make subjects that once put you to sleep in science class both so entertaining and approachable? The use of language is key. Based on analyses of popular science bestsellers, this linguistic study shows how expert popularizers use the voices and narratives of scientists to engage readers, demonstrating the power of science and portraying researchers as champions of knowledge. By doing so they often blur the lines between nonfiction and fiction, inviting readers to take part in thought experiments and turn ordinary scientists into omnipotent heroes.
The Science Writers' Handbook by ISBN: 9780738216560Publication Date: 2013-04-30Popular science writing has exploded in the past decade, both in print and online. Who better to guide writers striving to succeed in the profession than a group of award-winning independent journalists with a combined total of 225 years of experience? The members of SciLance give writers of all experience levels the practical information they need to succeed, as either a staffer or a freelancer.
Subject Headings for Searching in OBIS
A Subject Search in OBIS finds Library of Congress subject headings. A keyword search looks for words in the author, title, subject headings, table of contents, publishers and notes fields of all OBIS records. OBIS includes all of the physical materials owned by the Libraries in the collections on campus, plus hundreds of thousands of books, reports, databases and other materials only accessed online. OBIS also links to OhioLINK, the consortium of 90+ higher education institutions in Ohio and the Ohio Public Library network, OPLIN.
Be sure to look at the "Related Subject Headings" when searching any of the following subject headings.
- Communication in Science
- Science and State
- Science -- Popular Works
- Science Writers
- Scientists
- Technology and State