Finding Newspapers in Summon
Summon can be a powerful way to identify news content, as Oberlin subscribes to dozens of individual news database. Many, but not all, of these resources are indexed by Summon, and it's sometimes more efficient to search Summon than to search each underlying database separately. If you want sources from a particular time or place, is often more efficient to identify the newspaper collection that best aligns with those needs and search that database by itself. After you enter your search terms in Summon, use the "content type" facets on the left side of the screen to select "Newspaper Article" and "Magazine Article."
What is a "paper of record?"
A newspaper with a reputation for "preeminent and authoritative" news coverage for a geographic or political area. (Sage Encyclopedia of Jouranlism, 2009.)
Major newspapers
- Major Newspapers at OberlinExplanations of how to access major newspaper publications at Oberlin College.
Databases
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
- African Newspapers (1800-1922) This link opens in a new windowAfrican Newspapers, 1800-1922 provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe, African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922.
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Includes the American Indian Newspaper collection.
- Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated news broadcasts and publications of the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African Continent and around the world.
- East African Newspapers This link opens in a new windowKey East African newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s. This growing collection currently includes over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda).
- El Caribe Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowA Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. (Dates of coverage: 1956-1987, 2008-2021)
- Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Papers This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
- Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new windowWide range of regional newspapers from the Middle East and North Africa, in Arabic, English, and French, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events. (Dates of coverage 1902-1972)
- New York Times (1851 - 2018) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
- Southeast Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window19th and 20th century newspapers from Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese.
- The Times of India (1861 - 2011) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current)
- World News Connection (1995 - 2013) This link opens in a new windowTranslations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
