Primary or Secondary
- A general history of the pyratesA general history of the pyrates, : from their first rise and settlement in the Island of Providence, to the present time. With the remarkable actions and adventures of the two female pyrates Mary Read and Anne Bonny ... To which is added. A short abstract of the statute and civil law, in relation to pyracy
Primary Sources Databases
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)Primary source material of all types documenting American history from 1801-1819. Included in America's Historical Imprints.
- Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
- European Views of the Americas (1493-1750) This link opens in a new windowBased on the bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750” from the John Carter Brown Library.
Pirates Through the Ages by ISBN: 9781414486659Publication Date: 2011-06-16Pirates Through the Ages Reference Library explores the history of piracy from ancient times to the present day. The set includes Almanac, Biographies and Primary Sources volumes, covering topics including piracy in antiquity and the Middle Ages; the golden age of piracy in the Caribbean; female pirates; the pirate code of conduct and pirate slang; strongholds and hideouts; ships, weaponry, and sea battles; pirates in literature and film, modern maritime piracy; and more.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
Maps, Images
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionOnline collection of searchable, scanned historical maps.
- Golden Age of Piracy: A Resource GuideThis page lists resources on the Library of Congress website that will be useful for researchers looking for information about the Golden Age of Piracy
- National Maritime Digital LibraryThe Digital Library’s mission is to collect, preserve and make accessible maritime resources in electronic format, thereby promoting maritime cultural heritage scholarship.
- Perry Castañeda Library Map CollectionScans of historical maps from the University of Texas at Austin map library.