Western Art
- ARTbibliographies MODERN This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals published from 1969 to the present covering western European and North American art created in the late 1800s to the present. Search for the subject "Social Justice" to find artists and essays about social justice issues in art.
- Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, news items, and reviews. Broad range of materials are covered, from textiles and ceramics to glass, wood, and metal. Topics include jewelry, furniture, fashion, typography, landscape architecture, web and computer-aided design, computer graphics, and animation, plus business-oriented subjects such as advertising, packaging, and industrial design. Dates of coverage: 1973 to date
Social Justice Art Clearinghouse
- Teaching Artists Guild: Social Justice Resources
[A] crowd-sourced arts education and social justice clearing house celebrating best practices, practitioners and projects from all over the country to serve as beacons, inspirations and support for expanding the work from the margins to the mainstream.
Paired databases
The following databases have been split into two parts, one providing older records, the other current research.
Covering art worldwide, from prehistory to the present:
Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-history to contemporary art. Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
- Art Full Text (1984 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
Western art from early Christian period to the present:
OpenBibArt and the International Bibliography of Art
- OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to 2007, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007. Combines records from RAA, RILA and BHA.
- International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 500 journals covering European art since antiquity, American art sincle the colonial period, and Global art since 1945. Preceded by OpenBibArt.
