News & Newspapers
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Papers This link opens in a new windowOver 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929).
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. (Dates of coverage: 1950-)
- Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas (U de Buenos Aires)Collection of cultural and political magazines that represent significant moments in the development of cultural journalism in Argentina, accompanied by indexes, essays and critical articles.
- Caribbean NewspapersHistorical Caribbean newspapers most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Included in America's Historical Newspapers.
- Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century. Included in America's Historical Imprints.
- El Caribe Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowA Spanish-language daily newspaper published in Santo Domingo and is one of the Dominican Republic’s most influential and longest-running newspapers. (Dates of coverage: 1956-1987, 2008-2021)
National Libraries and Other Comprehensive Full Text Digital Collections
Most countries have a national library with digital collections that you can identify by googling the name of the country and "national library digital collections." A selection of such libraries, as well as digital collections from institutions such as universities with particularly strong Latin American collections are provided below. You can also use the SALAM Digital Primary Source finder to identify relevant collections.
- LLILAS Benson Digital CollectionsDigital collections from one of leading Latin American Studies libraries.
- Biblioteca Digital MexicanaDigital collections from the National Council for Culture and the Arts, the General Archive of the Nation, the National Library of Anthropology and History (INAH) and the Center for the Study of the History of Mexico CEHM-Carso.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
Note: As of May 2023, Oberlin is a HathiTrust member. Oberlin students, faculty, and staff can access member features by clicking on the “LOG IN” button, choosing “Oberlin College and Conservatory”, and using their ObieID to authenticate.
Topical Digital Archival Collections
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Archivo El InsultoEl Insulto is a platform dedicated to the recovery, conservation, and promotion of an archive on documents about sexual culture within circulation in Mexico on the twentieth century. It is a political and intellectual response to the absence of such a space, where one can go to encounter the erotic past and reactivate emotional relationships with the materials.
Images and Emphemera
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new windowOver 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
- Latin America Poster CollectionThe collection consists of posters from Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Venezuela, regarding political, economic, cultural, and educational affairs.
Film
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming documentaries, films, and demonstrations on topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Educational documentaries and fiction feature films curated to help students examine the issues related to social, ecological, political and environmental justice around the world.
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowHundreds of streaming full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including documentaries, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more.
- World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming feature films from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.