Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, fiction, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date
- Érudit This link opens in a new window
Érudit is a multi-university publishing consortium, providing access to 300+ Canadian and Francophone scholarly and cultural publications, including open, full-text access to 150+ scholarly publications.
- Portail Persée This link opens in a new window
Portail Persée is a French-language resource providing open, full-text access to French scholarly publications (journals, books, conference proceedings, serial publications, primary sources, etc.) in the natural sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
- Cairn.info This link opens in a new window
Cairn.info provides access to 600+ French language publications in the arts, humanities, social sciences, education, and public health, including books, journals, magazines, and encyclopediae. Access to abstracts and indexing is available for all resources; open, full-text access is available for many resources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
What is a Scholarly Article?
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are excellent places to find what has been studied or researched on a topic, as well as find references to additional relevant sources of information.
Finding Full Text
Many databases on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the PDF or HTML icon to download the article.
If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source.
Look for 
displayed for each item in the library's databases. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access via publisher websites is generally limited to subscribers.
Full text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page offering access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult the library staff.
Clio. Femmes, Genre, Histoire
- Clio at JSTORCLIO, Women, Gender, History, a bi-annual French gender history journal (formerly CLIO, Histoire, Femmes et Sociétés), encourages submissions from scholars working on the history of women and gender in all parts of the world and in all periods. Each issue is planned around a single theme (case study articles, current research, documents, primary sources, interviews, dedicated sections of book reviews and books received). The journal is open to interdisciplinary approaches and also regularly publishes non-themed articles under Varia.