Skip to Main Content

MUSY 301: Introduction to Music Research and Writing

Keywords vs Natural Language vs Library of Congress Subject Headings

Natural language search uses everyday language—like asking a question or typing a full sentence.

Keyword search relies on important words or phrases

Subject headings are specific terms assigned to describe content. They provide the most accurate way to search in databases.

  • Subject headings aren’t always intuitive, but once you find a good source, you can click its subject headings to find more on the same topic.

Unlike keywords, subject headings are assigned by organizations (e.g., Library of Congress or database providers) and help group similar materials together.

 

Keywords

 vs.

Subjects
  • natural language words describing your topic - good to start with
  • pre-defined "controlled vocabulary" words used to describe the content of each item (book, journal article) in a database
  • more flexible to search by - can combine together in many ways
  • less flexible to search by - need to know the exact controlled vocabulary term
  • database looks for keywords anywhere in the record - not necessarily connected together
  • database looks for subjects only in the subject heading or descriptor field, where the most relevant words appear
  • may yield too many or too few results
  • if too many results - also uses subheadings to focus on one aspect of the broader subject
  • may yield many irrelevant results
  • results usually very relevant to the topic

 

Subdivisions for books about music - Examples

Bibliography
Bibliography ‡v Graded lists

Dictionaries

Discography
Early works to 1800
Interpretation (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
Music
Stories, plots, etc.
Catalogs

Analysis, appreciation
Characters
Discography ‡x Methodology
First performances
History and criticism
Literary themes, motives
Manuscripts ‡x Facsimiles
Performances
Production and direction

Subdivisions for musical compositions - Examples

 

 

 

 

Code as ‡v

Code as ‡x

2-harpsichord scores
2-organ scores
2-piano scores
3-piano scores
Cadenzas
Chorus scores with piano
Chorus scores without accompaniment
Drama
Excerpts
Excerpts, Arranged
Facsimiles
Fake books
Hymns
Hymns ‡v Texts
Instructive editions
Instrumental settings 
Juvenile
Juvenile ‡x Instruction and study
‡v Lead sheets
‡v Librettos 
Manuscripts ‡v Facsimiles 
Methods
Methods ‡v Group instruction
Methods ‡v Juvenile

Instruction and study

Methods ‡v Self-instruction
Methods (Jazz [(Rock, Bluegrass, etc.])Musical settings 
Orchestral excerpts
Organ scores
Parts
Parts (solo)
Piano scores
Piano scores (4 hands)
Scores
Scores and parts
Scores and parts (solo)
Simplified editions
Solo(s) with       
Songs and music 
Stories, plots, etc 
Studies and exercises
Studies and exercises ‡x Juvenile
Studies and exercises ‡x (Jazz, [Rock, Bluegrass, etc.]) 
Teaching pieces
Texts
Vocal scores with       
Vocal scores without accompaniment

Instruction and

study

Subdivisions for instruments or groups of musical instruments - Examples

Catalogs, Manufacturers'

Catalogs and collections

Chord diagrams

Methods

Methods ‡v Group instruction

Methods ‡v Juvenile

Methods ‡v Self-instruction

Orchestra studies

Studies and exercises

Studies and exercises ‡v Juvenile

Acoustics

Construction

Customizing

Embouchure

Fingering

Fingering ‡v Charts, diagrams, etc.

Instruction and study

Instruction and study ‡v Juvenile

Multiphonics

Pedaling

Performance

Religious aspects

Tuning