Search Oberlin and OhioLINK
Search.Libraries gets you to over 44 million resources across Ohio with quick links to access or request items, searches within many databases, and can be quickly filtered to get what you are looking for. It includes books and ebooks, journal articles, music scores, videos, audio, newspaper articles, and more.
- Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Search.Libraries replaces OBIS, Summon, the Journal Finder, and the OhioLink Catalog as the primary starting point for access to Oberlin and OhioLink physical and electronic books, articles, scores, recordings, films, and more.
Paths beyond Search.Libraries
Search.Libraries functions like a Google-style search for library collections but has imitations. Due to legal restrictions and technical barriers, some materials fall outside the scope of what Search.Libraries is supposed to do and require users to search specialized databases separately.
What’s Excluded:
- Specialized databases: e.g., Music Index Online
- Niche tools: e.g., IPA Source (song/aria translations)
- Proprietary content: e.g., medici.tv (restricted to vendor platforms)
- New & open-access materials: May be delayed or missed due to indexing lags
- Legacy collections: Older records or digitized archives may have minimal metadata, e.g., much of Special Collections digital collection
- Content requiring alternate access methods: e.g Henle Scores (requires use of Henle app)
Example:
Search.Libraries won’t replace tools like Music Index or platforms like Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall and Met Opera on Demand, which don’t supply searchable bibliographic records.
When Search.Libraries Isn’t Enough
Try these strategies:
- Use subject-specific tools – some may only exist in print.
- Search individual databases – especially for focused topics.
- Browse packages and special collections – titles may not be listed individually.
- Ask a librarian – we can direct you to the best tools for your topic.