Get Research Help
Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Databases
Sociology
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more. Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
-
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts and full text of articles from 560 periodicals in sociology and related disciplines.
Interdisciplinary
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
In the Web of Science Core Collection search function, limit your search to Editions > Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in social science disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching.
As of Fall 2025, you will be redirected to the Web of Science Core Collections search. To search in the Social Sciences Citation Index, select Editions > Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1965-present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowCritically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
BEAM
The BEAM Model
When evaluating a source, consider its rhetorical purpose and function. The BEAM model of rhetorical source use describes four main ways sources are often used.
Background sources: General information or factual evidence used to provide context
- Example: encyclopedia article, dictionary definition
Exhibits/Evidence sources: Materials a writer analyzes/interprets
- Example: literary or artistic works, field observations, data, scientific specimens, contemporary reviews, historical documents
Argument sources: Highlights discussions and arguments by other scholars on the topic
- Example: scholarly articles, opinion pieces
Method/theory sources: Materials from which a writer adopts a concept or manner of working
- Examples: references to theories/ methods used by the author (e.g., survey, interviews, direct observation, mixed methods)