Get Research Help
Search.Libraries
You can access many books, ebooks, journal articles, and other sources at Oberlin. The resources below will help you to find everything we have at Oberlin and can access via other libraries in Ohio and worldwide.
Search at Oberlin and in OhioLINK
Using Search.Libraries, you can search everything available from Oberlin and from OhioLINK institutions across Ohio. Includes books and ebooks, journal articles, music scores, videos, audio, newspaper articles, and more.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Search Libraries Worldwide
-
Worldcat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Worldcat search interface that can be easily scoped to the Oberlin book collection. Particularly useful for users who prefer the Worldcat search interface for advanced music research or foreign language searching.
Article Databases
The library subscribes to hundreds of databases, some covering multiple disciplines and some designed for finding research in specific disciplines. Suggestions for databases to begin with are included below.
Multidisciplinary
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Art History
-
Art Full Text (1984 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
-
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-history to contemporary art. Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
Sciences
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Finding Full Text
Many databases on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the PDF or HTML icon to download the article.
If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source.
Look for 
displayed for each item in the library's databases. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access via publisher websites is generally limited to subscribers.
Full text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page offering access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult the library staff.
Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Sources
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).