Background Information
Current News
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Indian Country Today
Access World News contains issues of Indian Country Today spanning 1994-present.
ICT is an independent, nonprofit multimedia newsgroup that focuses on Indigenous people.
Historical News
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998): Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Series 1 includes titles from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Includes index to Black Literature (1827-1940), Black Studies Periodical Database, and the full text backfile (1910-2010) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
- Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
- Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new windowAlternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
- Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1996) This link opens in a new window
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
- New York Times (1851 - 2018) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today by Call Number: Main Library - E76.2 .E527 2013 v.1-2ISBN: 0313381445This essential reference examines the history, culture, and modern tribal concerns of American Indians in North America.
Encyclopedia of the American Indian MovementCall Number: Main Library E98.T77 J63 2013ISBN: 9781440803178Overview the people, events, and issues that changed the lives of Native Americans during the 1960s and 1970s--such as the occupation of Alcatraz, fishing-rights conflicts, and individuals such as Clyde Warrior.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights by Call Number: Main Library - E185.61 .E54 2003 v.1-2ISBN: 0313327661Provides alphabetically arranged entries on people and events important to the civil rights struggle, including organizations, books, concepts, court cases, and concepts.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowAfrican American and African history and culture including biographies, topical entries, primary source documents with commentary, images, maps, charts, tables, and more.
Government Documents
- ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowInformation about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
Indian affairs. : Laws and Treaties by Call Number: Main Oversize - KF8203 1975Publication Date: 1975v.1. Laws. Compiled to Dec. 1, 1902.--v.2. Treaties.--v.3. Laws. Compiled to Dec. 1, 1913.--v.4. Laws. Compiled to March 4, 1927.--v.5. Laws. Compiled from Dec. 22, 1927 to June 29, 1938
This book is also available online by volume (PDF) from the Government Printing Office.
- Race Relations in America, 1928-1976Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes. Included in AM-Explorer.