Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)
This link opens in a new windowIn the Web of Science Core Collection search function, limit your search to Editions > Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in the arts and humanities disciplines. Also includes book chapters, conference papers and other formats. Cited and citing reference searching. As of Fall 2025, you will be redirected to the Web of Science Core Collections search. To search in the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, select Editions > Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI)--1975-present.
Musical America
This link opens in a new windowContains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
Music Index Online
This link opens in a new windowMusic Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Music
This link opens in a new windowA series of digital collections focused on 20th and 21st century music genres such as Rock, Folk, Hip-Hop, and Rap. This collection contains 1,461 issues comprising 100,696 pages and 91,441 articles. Note: Oberlin only has access to Music Magazine Archive through this platform, not the full Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.
RILM Full Text
This link opens in a new windowComprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals
This link opens in a new windowRIPM Jazz Periodicals is a collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines published. Developed in collaboration with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers University and partner libraries, RIPM Jazz Periodicals is an essential documentary resource that chronicles American jazz culture as seen through the eyes of its contemporaries. (Dates of coverage: 1914-2000)
RIPM – With Full Text
This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Repertoire International des Sources Musicales
This link opens in a new windowAn international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Databases Good for All Subjects
Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
JSTOR
This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world. Previews and full text available for some titles.
Web of Science
This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
