Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Primary Sources
-
Biblioteca ItalianaBiblioteca Italiana is a digital library of texts that are representative of Italy's traditional culture and literature, from the Middle Ages to the nineteenth century.
-
Carte d'Autore OnlineCarte d'Autore Online provides access to digital archives of Italian literature in the modern era, presenting manuscripts, letters, photographs, and films alongside their associated archive records. Carte d'Autore includes over 100,000 archive records, 89,000 images, and 14,000 transcriptions, across nine archive collections.
-
Internet Culturale (IC)Internet Culturale, a project of the Istituto centrale per il catalogo unico (IC-CU) in the Italian Ministry of Culture, facilitates access to the catalogs digital collections of Italian libraries, highlighting documents and materials related to cultural heritage.
-
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Collections include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange; British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular culture. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Background Sources
-
Digital DanteDigital Dante offers original research and ideas on Dante Alighieri's thought and work, and on aspects of his reception. Features include an original online commentary on the Divine Comedy; a tool for intertextual analysis of the Divine Comedy; and, original works in conversation with Dante, contributed by artists, philosophers, and scholars from around the world.
-
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
-
Routledge Resources Online: The Renaissance World This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scholarship that supports teaching and learning about the Renaissance from a global perspective. Detail entries provided background and context on topics from subject areas, including Art and Architecture, Economy and Commerce, Environment, Literature and Drama, Politics and Governance, Religion, and Society.
-
TreccaniTreccani provides digital access to the Italian reference works published under their aegis, including: Enciclopedia Italiana di Scienze, Lettere ed Arti; Dizionario Biografico; Vocabolario On Line; and many more.
-
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary: English-Italian
by
ISBN: 9780191739569Publication Date: 2010"This Italian-English dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases and contains 120,000 translations. It is designed to meet the needs of business users, adult learners, and students in their first years of learning Italian." -
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary: English-Italian
by
ISBN: 9780191739552Publication Date: 2010"This Italian-English dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases and contains 120,000 translations. It is designed to meet the needs of business users, adult learners, and students in their first years of learning Italian." -
Using Italian
by
ISBN: 9780521480949Publication Date: 2006-10-02"This 2002 book is a guide to Italian usage for students who have already acquired the basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge. Unlike conventional grammars, it gives special attention to those areas of vocabulary and grammar which cause most difficulty to English-speakers. Careful consideration is given throughout to questions of style, register, and politeness which are essential to achieving an appropriate level of formality or informality in writing and speech. It surveys the contemporary linguistic scene in Italy and gives ample space to the new varieties of Italian that are emerging in modern Italy. The influence of the dialects in shaping the development of Italian is also acknowledged. Clear, readable and easy to consult via its two indexes, this is an essential reference for learners seeking access to the finer nuances of the Italian language."
-
The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Novel
by
ISBN: 0521669626Publication Date: 2003-07-31"The Cambridge Companion to the Italian Novel provides a broad ranging introduction to the major trends in the development of the Italian novel from its early modern origin to the contemporary era. Contributions cover a wide range of topics including the theory of the novel in Italy, the historical novel, realism, modernism, postmodernism, neorealism, and film and the novel. The contributors are distinguished scholars from the United Kingdom, the United States, Italy, and Australia. Novelists examined include some of the most influential and important of the twentieth century inside and outside Italy: Luigi Pirandello, Primo Levi, Umberto Eco and Italo Calvino. This is a unique examination of the Italian Novel, and will prove invaluable to students and specialists alike. Readers will gain a keen sense of the vitality of the Italian novel throughout its history and a clear picture of the debates and criticism that have surrounded its development." -
Italian Literature: A Very Short Introduction
by
ISBN: 0199231796Publication Date: 2012-03-24"In this Very Short Introduction, Peter Hainsworth and David Robey consider Italian literature from the Middle Ages to the present day, looking at themes and issues which have recurred throughout its history and continue to be of importance today. Examining themes such as regional identities, political disunity, and the role of the national language, they also cover a wide range of authors and works, including Dante, Petrarch, Manzoni, Montale, and Calvino. They explore some of the distinctive traditions of the literature, such as its liking for theorizing its own position, its concern with politics, and its secular orientation in spite of the Catholic beliefs and practices of the Italian people. Concluding by looking at the ways in which Italian literature has changed over the last thirty years, they examine the influence of women's writing in Italian, and acknowledge the belated recognition of its importance." -
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
by
ISBN: 0198183321Publication Date: 2003-01-16"Embracing the whole of Italian literature, from the early thirteenth century to the present, The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature takes a broad view of what constitutes literature, covering historical writing, travel writing, theatre, and philosophy as well as the novel, poetry, literary dialogues, and critical theory. Providing generous coverage of canonical figures - from Dante and Petrarch to Montale and Calvino - it also contains a wealth of short entries on significant minor figures. The Companion also explores Latin literature written by Italian authors - a major feature of Renaissance culture - and Italian dialect literature; and highlights articles which place the writers and their works in their wider social, historical, artistic, and political context. The 2,400 alphabetically-arranged entries provide clear, up-to-date coverage of Italian literature, making this an essential reference for specialists and non-specialists alike. Written by expert contributors, the entries reflect the current state of international scholarship, which has developed in many different and exciting directions in recent years."
-
The A to Z of Modern Italy
by
ISBN: 1461672023Publication Date: 2010-01-01"Italy is a country that exercises a hold on the imagination of people all over the world. Its long history has left an inexhaustible treasure chest of cultural achievement. The historic cities of Rome, Florence, and Venice are among the most sought-after destinations in the world for tourists and art lovers, and Italy's natural beauty and cuisine are rightly renowned. Italy's history and politics are also a source of endless fascination. Modern Italy has consistently been a political laboratory for the rest of Europe. In the 19th century, Italian patriotism was of crucial importance in the struggle against the absolute governments reintroduced after the Congress of Vienna, 1814-15. After the fall of Fascism during World War II, Italy became a model of rapid economic development, though its politics has never been less than contentious and its democracy has remained a troubled one. The A to Z of Modern Italy is an attempt to introduce the key personalities, events, social developments, and cultural achievements of Italy since the beginning of the 19th century, when Italy first began to emerge as something more than a geographical entity and national feeling began to grow. This is done through a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, a map, a bibliography, and some 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on prominent individuals, basic institutions, crucial events, history, politics, economics, society, and culture." -
Historical Dictionary of Modern Italy
by
Call Number: DG555 .G53 2020ISBN: 9781538102534Publication Date: 2020-10-01"Italy is a country that exercises a hold on the imagination of people all over the world. Its long history has left an inexhaustible treasure chest of cultural achievement: Historic cities such as Rome, Florence, and Venice are among the most sought-after destinations in the world for tourists and art lovers. Italy's natural beauty and cuisine are rightly renowned. It's history and politics are also a source of endless fascination. Modern Italy has consistently been a political laboratory for the rest of Europe. This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Modern Italy contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on important personalities as well as aspects of the country's politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Italy." -
The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Italy
by
ISBN: 9781138589575Publication Date: 2018-03-05"The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Italy provides a comprehensive account of Italy and Italian politics in the twenty-first century. Featuring contributions from many leading scholars in the field, this Handbook is comprised of 28 chapters which are organized to deliver unparalleled analysis of Italian society, politics, and culture. A wide range of topics are covered, including: politics and economy, and their impact on Italian society; parties and new politics; regionalism and migrations; public memories; continuities and transformations in contemporary Italian society. This is an essential reference work for scholars and students of Italian and Western European society, politics, and history."
-
Historical Dictionary of Italian Cinema
by
Call Number: PN1993.5.I88 M56 2008ISBN: 9780810860735Publication Date: 2008-09-29"Italian cinema is now regarded as one of the great cinemas of the world. Historically, however, its fortunes have varied. Following a brief moment of glory in the early silent era, Italian cinema appeared to descend almost into irrelevance in the early1920s. A strong revival of the industry which gathered pace during the 1930s was abruptly truncated by the advent of World War II. The end of the war, however, initiated a renewal as films such as Roma città aperta (Rome Open City), Sciuscià (Shoeshine, 1946), and Ladri di biciclette (Bicycle Thieves, 1948), flagbearers of what soon came to be known as Neorealism, attracted unprecedented international acclaim and a reputation that only continued to grow in the following years as Italian films were feted worldwide. Ironically, they were celebrated nowhere more than in the United States, where Italian films consistently garnered the lion's share of the Oscars, with Lina Wertmüller becoming the first woman to ever be nominated for the Best Director award. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Italian Cinema contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on major movements, directors, actors, actresses, film genres, producers, industry organizations and key films. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Italian Cinema."
Books and Ebooks
Library of Congress Classification (LCC) assigns call numbers beginning with DG, PC, and PQ to many resources relevant to Italian and the Italophone world; subclasses and ranges are outlined below.
- DG11-999 History of Italy
- PC1001-1977 Italian [language]
- PQ4001-5999 Italian literature
For more information, see:
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) for Italian include:
- Italy
- Italy -- History
- Italian
- Italian drama
- Italian drama (Comedy)
- Italian fiction
- Italian language
- Italian literature
- Motion pictures, Italian
Subject headings or terms might be viewed as problematic for a variety of reasons. They may be outdated, hurtful or offensive, inappropriate, incorrect, or unclear to the point of misunderstanding. To learn more, read about our Subject Term Flagging initiative.
In Search.Libraries, you may:
- Filter your search results by Resource Type > Books, and Language > Italian.
- In Advanced Search, select Books & ebooks for the Resource Type pre-filter, and Italian for the Language pre-filter.
For novels and short fiction, you may:
- Search for books & ebooks where subject contains the exact phrase: Italian fiction; this will return many—but not exclusively—results in the original Italian.
- Search for books & ebooks where genre contains: fiction; then, filter results by Language > Italian.
To discover Italian literature in English translation in Search.Libraries:
- Search for books & ebooks where the subject contains: Short stories, Italian -- Translations into English
- Search books & ebooks where the subject contains: Italian fiction -- Translations into English
- Search books & ebooks where the subject contains: Italian literature -- Translations into English
Other useful search limitations and pre-filters include:
- Genre contains Translations into English
- Genre contains Short stories
- Genre contains Fiction
- Language includes Italian
The bibliographies below are useful for identifying published translations:
-
Italian Literature Before 1900 in English Translation
by
ISBN: 1442642696Publication Date: 2011-08-13"Italian Literature before 1900 in English Translationprovides the most complete record possible of texts from the early periods that have been translated into English, and published between 1929 and 2008. It lists works from all genres and subjects, and includes translations wherever they have appeared across the globe. In this annotated bibliography, Robin Healey covers over 5,200 distinct editions of pre-1900 Italian writings. Most entries are accompanied by useful notes providing information on authors, works, translators, and how the translations were received. Among the works by over 1,500 authors represented in this volume are hundreds of editions by Italy's most translated authors - Dante Alighieri, Machiavelli, and Boccaccio - and other hundreds which represent the author's only English translation. A significant number of entries describe works originally published in Latin. Together with Healey's Twentieth-Century Italian Literature in English Translation, this volume makes comprehensive information on translations accessible for schools, libraries, and those interested in comparative literature." -
Italian Literature since 1900 in English Translation
by
ISBN: 1487502923Publication Date: 2019-03-07"Providing the most complete record possible of texts by Italian writers active after 1900, this annotated bibliography covers over 4,800 distinct editions of writings by some 1,700 Italian authors. Many entries are accompanied by useful notes that provide information on the authors, works, translators, and the reception of the translations. This book includes the works of Pirandello, Calvino, Eco, and more recently, Andrea Camilleri and Valerio Manfredi. Together with Robin Healey's Italian Literature before 1900 in English Translation, also published by University of Toronto Press in 2011, this volume makes comprehensive information on translations from Italian accessible for schools, libraries, and those interested in comparative literature."
Scholarly Articles
-
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Includes both scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer publications. Covers many disciplines, such as art, architecture and design; classics, archaeology, and anthropology; literature, theatre, and film; philosophy and religion; music; and history.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, fiction, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
Magazines and Newspapers
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.