Historical Magazines and Archival Sources
Depending on the topic and methodology you're proposing, you may or not make use of published magazines or materials like personal or organizational papers that would be held by an archive.
The following are potential starting points. Reference Librarians can make more focused individual recommendations in a research appointment or at the Research Help Desk.
Databases
-
Archives of sexuality & gender (LEECA Access) This link opens in a new window
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups the documents present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, personal correspondence, and other documents. Dates of coverage: 1940-. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
-
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. (Dates of coverage: 1950-)
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
-
Archives Unbound (LEECA Access) This link opens in a new window
Gain access to rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections. Supports academic research. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
Note: As of May 2023, Oberlin is a HathiTrust member. Oberlin students, faculty, and staff can access member features by clicking on the “LOG IN” button, choosing “Oberlin College and Conservatory”, and using their ObieID to authenticate.
Freely Available Online Collections
-
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowA platform that brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
-
Digital Feminist Archives (Barnard College)This archive offers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s, the institutionalization of women’s centers and women’s studies as an academic discipline, and feminist struggles taking place at colleges and universities, in healthcare and social service centers, in political organizations and neighborhood meetings across the country.
-
LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive (Library of Congress)The LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world. Sites include domestic and international non-profit organizations, journalism and news external link, creative works and expressions, historical records, and more.
-
LGBT Community Center National History ArchiveThe LGBT Community Center National History Archive is a community-based archive that collects, preserves, and makes available to the public the documentation of LGBTQ+ lives and organizations centered in and around New York.
-
Lesbian Herstory Archives"The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities."
-
Digital Transgender Archive"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
Materials at Oberlin
We may also hold materials in Archives (4th floor of Terrell Library). You can search our finding aids online. However, it is always worth speaking with Archives staff, who may be able to make recommendations to specific collections.
Hours and contact information are available on the Archives webpages.