In-session: Public Opinion & Policy
The following resources for accessing and analyzing public opinion survey data and statistics were presented during our library session by Prof. Briitta von Staalduinen.
-
EurobarometerEurobarometer presents European public opinion survey data collected since 1971 by the European Commission.
-
European Social Survey (ESS)ESS is an European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC), gathering and making available open access data measuring public attitudes, beliefs and behavior patters across European populations.
The following resources for accessing and analyzing immigration policy data and statistics were discussed during our library session by Prof. Briitta von Staalduinen.
-
Immigration Policies in Comparison (IMPIC)With funding from the German Research Foundation, the WZB Berlin Social Science Center, the University of Bamberg, and Swiss National Science Foundation, IMPIC presents quantitative indices measure immigration policy in 33 member countries of the intergovernmental Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) from 1980–2018.
-
Manifesto Project Database (MPD)Compiled by the Manifesto Research on Political Representation (MARPOR) project, and hosted by the WZB Berlin Social Science Center ,the MPD is a database of the policy programs of political parties, coded to facilitate comparison by region and over time.
-
Migrant Integration Policy Index (MIPEX)Produced by the nonprofit Migration Policy Group (MPG), with funding from the European Union and the Centre for Global Development (CGD) Europe, the MIPEX gathers and makes available data related to migration and integration policies in 56 countries across five continents.
Finding Demographic Data & Statistics
The following websites and databases provide access to U.S. demographic data and statistics.
-
Census.govThe website of the U.S. Census Bureau, providing information about the decennial census, surveys, and programs, and access to data and statistics.
-
Census Bureau DataThe U.S. Census Bureau's main data search platform at census.data.gov. Coverage: 2000-
-
Decennial Census PublicationsPublished volumes of aggregated census statistics, available in electronic format, and including statistical information by state, county, and Statistical Metropolitan Areas. Coverage: 1790-
-
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Users can view and download data, and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
-
IPUMS USAProvides access to 60+ samples of the U.S. population, with data from federal censuses, American Community Surveys (2000-present), and Puerto Rican Community Surveys (2005-present). Data is standardized and uniformly coded, facilitating comparative research and analysis.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports. Users must register for an account (free for current students, faculty, and staff with an active oberlin.edu email address) to access a full range of features.
-
State & County Quickfacts This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
-
USAFactsUSAFacts is a nonpartisan, nonprofit initiative providing insights, data, and statistics.
Research Guides
The following research guides may be useful when working with U.S. Census Bureau publications, data, and statistics.
-
Census Statistics (NARA Guide)A brief research guide maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), facilitating access to U.S. Census Bureau data and statistics, including historical publications held by NARA.
-
U.S. Census Connections: A Resource GuideA research guide maintained by the Library of Congress, facilitating access to U.S. Census Bureau data and statistics, and identifying useful reference resources and finding aids.
The following websites, platforms, and databases provide access to international demographic data and statistics.
-
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)Originally funded through USAID, the DHS collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
-
EurostatEurostat is the statistical office of the European Union, responsible for aggregating and standardizing statistical data from across the E.U., which is structured by themes (e.g., Population and social conditions) and sub-themes (e.g., Migration and asylum)
-
IPUMS InternationalFacilitates access to census microdata from around the world. Data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facilitate comparative research and analysis.
-
U.S. Census Bureau International Database (IDB)The IDB provides access to demographic measures of 200+ countries and areas with populations of 5,000+, and for thousands of subnational areas (equivalent to U.S. states, counties, and townships).
-
United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD)The UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develop standards and norms for statistical activities, and support countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
-
World Bank Open DataOpen Data aggregates data from the statistical systems of World Bank member countries, and provides free and open access, including to curated collections via the Data360 platform.
-
WorldPopWorldPop maps populations across the globe, partnering with governments, UN agencies and donors to produce nearly 45,000 open-access spatial demographic datasets.
Finding Migration Data & Statistics
The following websites, platforms, and databases provide access to U.S. migration data and statistics.
-
CBP Public Data PortalThe U.S. Customs and Border Patrol (CBP) Public Data Portal provides access to statistical data used to create charts and dashboards published on CBP.gov, including: Encounters; Seizures and Other Enforcement; Trade; Travel; and, Accountability and Transparency.
-
Latin American Migration Project (LAMP)The LAMP collects survey data from households in Latin American migrant places of origin and in U.S. places of destination to describe and analyze the determinants and consequences of U.S. migration, including the prevalence and dynamics of new forms of migration that include women, children and families.
-
Mesoamerican Migration Project (MMP)The MMP collects and analyzes social and economic data on migration to the U.S. from Mexico, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras.
-
Migration Policy Institute (MPI)MPI is a nonpartisan think tank providing data, information, and analysis on U.S. immigration and integration issues, including coverage of migration flows, immigration and integration policy, and the impact of immigration on labor markets, educational outcomes, and social cohesion.
-
Office of Homeland Security Statistics (OHSS)The OHSS provides access to data and reports in areas defined as Immigration, Law Enforcement, Emergency Management, Maritime, International Trade, Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Screening. OHSS also provides Key Homeland Security Metrics (KHSM), standardized, centralized reports of OHSS's most-requested data.
-
U.S. Visa StatisticsThe U.S. Department of State Bureau of Consular Affairs provides access to visa issuance data, and to annual reports of the Visa Office.
-
USAFacts ImmigrationUSAFacts is a nonpartisan, nonprofit initiative providing insights, data, and statistics. USAFacts Immigration provides access to data guides on immigration channels and border security.
-
USCIS Immigration and Citizenship DataReports and studies providing data on various aspects of U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) operations.
The following websites, platforms, and databases provide access to international migration data and statistics.
-
Dataset of World Refugee and Asylum Policies (DWRAP)The World Bank's DWRAP offers a complete dataset of de jure asylum and refugee policies for all 193 World Bank member countries for the 70 years from 1951-2022.
-
Internal Displacement Monitoring Center (IDMC)The IDMC provides data and analysis on internal displacement, including estimates of the number of people worldwide who are currently or are at risk of becoming internally displaced by conflict, violence, disasters and development projects.
-
IOM Migration DataThe United Nations International Organization for Migration (UN IOM) facilitates access to resources and tools for migration data research and analysis, including the Displacement Tracking Matrix, the Global Migration Data Analysis Centre, the Migration Data Portal, and the Missing Migrants Project.
-
UNHCR Operational Data Portal (ODP)The ODP provides an information and data sharing platform, used by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) to facilitate coordination of refugee emergencies. Includes situation views covering major emergencies (e.g., the Central African Republic emergency).
Evaluating Organizations
Organizations provide access to information according to their goals, mission, objectives, or purpose.
Many organizations provide a statement about themselves and about their aims, but reading these statements is not the best way to evaluate the authority, bias, or credibility of an organization.
Lateral Reading
A much better approach to evaluating an organization is lateral reading: seek information about the organization by reading other sources—ideally, multiple, trusted sources.
Learn more about lateral reading in the following research guide: