Get Research Help
Search.Libraries
You can access many books, ebooks, journal articles, and other sources at Oberlin. The resources below will help you to find everything we have at Oberlin and can access via other libraries in Ohio and worldwide.
Search at Oberlin and in OhioLINK
Using Search.Libraries, you can search everything available from Oberlin and from OhioLINK institutions across Ohio. Includes books and ebooks, journal articles, music scores, videos, audio, newspaper articles, and more.
-
Search.Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more from a single integrated starting point.
Search Libraries Worldwide
-
Worldcat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Worldcat search interface that can be easily scoped to the Oberlin book collection. Particularly useful for users who prefer the Worldcat search interface for advanced music research or foreign language searching.
Other Tools
For class, I've selected two databases. For all of the databases with news content, see our full A-Z database list of news and newspapers databases.
Multidisciplinary
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAs a starting point, this database is good for nearly all academic subjects. It also contains a wide range of sources, including scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and more.
News Coverage
-
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Oberlin Student Access to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Journal
All current Oberlin students, faculty, and staff have access to the Wall Street Journal Website and Wall Street Journal apps, which include the last four years of content. You must register for an account using your Oberlin email address via the link below:
New York Times
Institutional access to the NYTimes.com (including news, New York Times Magazine, Wirecutter, and Cooking) is provided to all current Oberlin College students, faculty, and staff.
If you are new to campus or have not previously registered for Oberlin's institutional NYTimes access:
- While on campus and connected to Oberlin’s network or while using the VPN, visit accessnyt.com.
- Create an account (claim a Pass) using your @oberlin.edu email address.
- You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.
Once registered, you’ll be able to access NYTimes.com by logging into your account from any computer/tablet/device you use.