Search.Libraries
Visit Search.Libraries to find books, journal articles, scores, audio, video, and more—all from a single integrated starting point.
Local Resources
This guide is intended to provide easy access to the most commonly used resources for the study of the history of Oberlin College. A wealth of additional resources are available at the Oberlin College Archives and the Oberlin Heritage Center.
The Oberlin College Archives may also have some local related primary documents that you can browse through:
Feel free to visit the Archives on the 4th floor of the Terrell Main Library OR contact the staff for more information.
If you are planning to interview people for your research, it is recommended you review the following resource:
-
Institutional Review Board (IRB)All colleges and universities are required by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to have IRBs in order to protect human subjects involved in research. Members of the committee come from a variety of disciplines, including at least one member whose primary concerns are nonscientific and one member who is not affiliated with the college. It is the responsibility of the IRB to ensure that investigators comply with the relevant federal regulations and ethical guidelines set forth by the Office for Human Research Protections (OHRP).
The following is not a comprehensive list, but it is a list of services in Lorain County and Cleveland worth considering for topics on substance abuse, health disparities, transportation, and more.
-
Center for Community SolutionsThe Center for Community Solutions is an independent, nonpartisan research center improving health, social, and economic conditions in Ohio through policy, research, and data analysis.
-
Encyclopedia of Cleveland HistoryThe Encyclopedia of Cleveland History represents the contributions of hundreds of academic scholars and talented amateur historians to the interpretation and understanding of the history of Greater Cleveland.
-
First Church In OberlinThe First Church in Oberlin United Church of Christ - an Open and Affirming, Just Peace, Global Mission and Green Justice Community in Oberlin since 1834.
-
Kendal at OberlinKendal is a nonprofit life plan community that offers a wellness-focused, resident-led lifestyle for independent living. When needed, Kendal’s Stephens Care Center provides person-centered care for memory support, assisted living and nursing care.
-
Let's Get Real, Inc.Let's Get Real, Inc. is a 501(c)3 non profit Recovery Community Organization based in Lorain, OH. Our mission is to provide information, education, and resource assistance to families and loved ones in their journey from addiction to recovery.
-
Lorain County Public HealthLorain County Public Health (LCPH) is a local public health agency that serves Lorain County, Ohio. We are led by our own board appointed by local mayors, city managers, and township trustees. We are responsible for all cities, townships, and villages in Lorain County except the City of Vermilion, which receives services from the Erie County Health Department.
-
Lorain County Visitors BureauLorain County Convention & Visitors Bureau is the county department that is responsible for marketing and promoting local communities within Lorain County, Ohio.
-
Mental Health, Addiction and Recovery Services (MHARS) Board of Lorain CountyMHARS brings together the expertise, resources, and proud histories of the Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board of Lorain County (ADAS) founded in 1989 and the Lorain County Board of Mental Health (LCBMH) founded in 1967. The MHARS Board was established in July of 2019.
-
Oberlin Community ServicesOberlin Community Services (OCS) is a responsive community-based organization that serves low-income and vulnerable community members by providing food, financial assistance, referrals, educational outreach, and other basic needs.
-
Oberlin Connector - City of OberlinThe Oberlin Connector provides a public transportation service in the community. It is contracted through Lorain County Transit and allows riders to call to make arrangements for same day travel or up to two (2) weeks in advance.
-
Ohio Substance Use Disorders Center of Excellence (SUD COE)Ohio SUD COE is dedicated to improving care quality for individuals with substance use disorders and related health needs. Our center provides Ohio’s treatment providers with the tools and training to apply evidence-informed practices and integrated care approaches in addressing substance use, mental health and physical health needs.
-
Recovery Dharma Oberlin @ First ChurchThe Buddhist Recovery Network promotes the use of Buddhist teachings and practices to help people recover from the suffering caused by addictive behaviors and is open to people of all backgrounds, and respectful of all recovery paths.
-
Riveon Mental Health And RecoveryRiveon offers a seamless, integrated approach to behavioral health. Our purpose is to simplify the path to recovery and create a unified care system that addresses the full spectrum of mental, emotional, and physical well-being.
-
Rural Response NetworkThe mission of the Rural Response Network (RRN) is to reduce overdoses and overdose deaths and strengthen and expand the capacity of Oberlin, Wellington and surrounding rural townships to engage high-risk populations and provide substance use/opioid use disorder prevention, treatment and recovery support services.
-
Transportaion Resources in Cleveland (findhelp)Findhelp can connect you with local food pantries and meal programs. You can also find resources for housing, financial assistance, health care, and more.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
-
Cleveland News Index This link opens in a new windowCitations to local news stories, feature articles and reviews from: Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999; Cleveland Magazine (1983- ); Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ); Ohio Magazine (1990- ). Includes obituaries since 1976. Dates of Coverage: 1983 to date
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
-
Oberlin News Tribune This link opens in a new windowAn Oberlin weekly paper. (Dates of Coverage: 1939-1945)
-
Plain Dealer Collection with Historic Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text access and scans of the Cleveland newspaper from April 07,1845 to present
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science (includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
