Websites and Databases
-
ProPublicaAn independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces long form investigative journalism with moral force.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources. Dates of Coverage: Last 30 days.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Wall Street Journal Online Membership
All current Oberlin College & Conservatory students, faculty, and staff have access to the Wall Street Journal website and Wall Street Journal apps, which include the last four years of content.
You must register for an account using your @oberlin.edu email address via the link below:
Students
-
WSJ Student HubCurated content focused on job preparation, finance tips, career insights and expert advice.
-
WSJ Student HomepageOpportunities to have their work published on WSJ.com, relevant podcasts and newsletters, and updates about when WSJ will be at their campus.
Professor Tools
-
WSJ ContextBridge the gap between theory and practice by seamlessly integrating WSJ content into lesson plans through shared reading lists. (Note: Blackboard integration is not yet available.)
-
Assessment ToolTest your students’ comprehension and awareness of current events through online quizzes on WSJ articles.
-
WSJ Seminar SeriesLearn how to use WSJ’s content to connect academic theory with real-world applications through these webinars.
-
Weekly ReviewDiscover relevant articles, along with thought-provoking questions and classroom applications, through these weekly, discipline-specific emails created by specialized faculty.
-
Critical Thinking ResourceEasily integrate WSJ articles into your classes, and energize discussions with tangible examples of course concepts your students can apply in the real world.
New York Times Pass
Oberlin College Libraries provides access to NYTimes.com (including news, New York Times Magazine, Wirecutter, and Cooking) to all current Oberlin College & Conservatory students, faculty, and staff.
If you are new to campus or have not previously registered for Oberlin's institutional NYTimes access, follow these steps:
- While on campus and connected to Oberlin’s network or while using the VPN, visit accessnyt.com.
- Create an account (claim a pass) using your @oberlin.edu email address.
- You have successfully claimed a pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen.
Once registered, you’ll be able to access NYTimes.com by logging into your account from any computer, tablet, or device you use, including with the NY Times mobile app.
Students
When registering, you will be asked for your date of graduation from Oberlin. Your status will remain active through that date, with no need to reactivate/re-authenticate.
Faculty/Staff
You will need to re-authenticate annually, 364 days after you last registered/authenticated for your NYTimes.com pass. You may not reactivate your pass until your previous access has expired.
To reactivate your pass:
- While on-site and connected to Oberlin’s network (or while using the VPN from off campus), visit accessnyt.com.
- Make sure you are logged into the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your last pass.
- You will be granted a new pass and see the "Start Your Access" screen.
The new pass will be good for 364 days.