Education

This online encyclopedia covers the field of education broadly. Entries provide a detailed overview of a topic, as well as lengthy suggestions for further reading and references.

Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and worldwide. It features biographies of influential educators, profiles of historic colleges and universities and organizations active in the field, and an appendix of full-text source documents, including education-related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods.

With nearly 450 entries, this encyclopedia combines the strands of reform and dissent. It includes an overview of educational reform and dissent with a timeline of key reforms, legislation, publications, and more. It also examines related theories, concepts, ideas, writings, research, and practice related to reform or dissent in education.

Offers both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy.

This encyclopedia examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

An easy-to-use A-Z guide summarizing all the key terms, ideas, and issues central to the study of educational theory today.

This encyclopedia charts the influence of philosophic ideas that have had the greatest influence on education from Ancient Greece to the present. It covers classical thinkers as Plato, Augustine, Hypatia, Locke and Rousseau, as well as recent figures such as Montessori, Heldegger, Du Bois and Dewey. It illuminates time-hounded ideas and concepts such as idealism, practical wisdom, scholasticism, tragedy and truth, as well as modern constructs as critical theory, existentialism, phenomenology, Marxism and post-Colonialism.

Provides summaries of the great educators of the past. Covering a time-span from 500 BC to the early twentieth century each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of their impact and influence, a list of their major writings and suggested further reading.

Looks at fifty of the 20th century's most significant contributors to the debate on education. Each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of his or her impact and influence and a list of their major writings and suggested further reading.