Images and Primary Sources
-
Costume in detail; women's dress, 1730-1930.
by
Call Number: Art Library, GT580 .B67 1968Publication Date: 1968 -
The Fashionable Lady in the 19th Century
by
Call Number: Art Library GT595.G5Publication Date: 1960 -
Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915.
by
Call Number: Art Library GT 720.T35 2010ISBN: 9783791350622This book studies the evolution of European dress through two centuries: aesthetic and technical development from the Age of Enlightenment to World War I.
-
Richard Rutt [Knitting] Collection: Winchester School of Art Library
A broad range and number of digitized 19th century knittingbooks,precursors of today's knitting patterns and "how-to-knit" books as well the complete run of Stitchcraft a knitting magazine published from the 1930s to the 1980s (also digitized). Also includes books on Scandinavian and Korean knitting.
-
Period Costume for Stage and Screen. Patterns for Outer Garmets. Bk 1-2.
by
Call Number: Art Library TT530. H86 2000Book. 1. Cloaks, capes, stoles and wadded mantles
Book. 2. Dominos, dolmans, coast, pelisses, spencers, callashes, hoods and bonntes
This reference for costume designers contains 38 scaleable patterns and instructions for constructing selected types of historical outdoor garments for women. Coverage includes taking measurements, types of fabrics, sewing techniques, fitting, and harnessing the garment to the actor.
-
A Visual HIstory of Costume: The Nineteenth Century
by
Call Number: Art Library, GT733.V57 1983 vol. 4ISBN: 0713440996Publication Date: 1983-A series of easy-to-use reference guides on the history of dress, each book covers one century. The central part of each book is a series of illustrations, arranged chronologically, taken from the time of the dress itself. These include oil paintings, photographs, engravings, woodcuts and line drawings from a wide range of sources and give an idea of what was worn and how. The clothes are described, explained and intepreted and captions describe what is worn on the head, body as well as any accessories. Vanda Foster was formerly the Senior Assistant Keeper of Costume and Textiles in the Museum of London.
-
University of Washington Libraries - Fashion Plate CollectionA digital collection of over 400 fashion plates, 1806-1914, organized into seven periods: Empire (1806-1813), Georgian (1806-1836), Regency (1811-1820), Romantic (1825-1850), Victorian (1837-1859), Late Victorian (1860-1900), and Edwardian (1901-1915).
Accessories
-
Bags
by
Call Number: Art Library NK4890. H34 W55 1999ISBN: 1851772863Publication Date: London : V&A, 1999Exploring changing styles and usage, this account features a wide range of bags from delicate draw-string and richly worked ecclesiastical purses, to large 18th-century work-bags and tiny reticules worn by slender-waisted Empire beauties.
-
Pockets of History: Tie on pockets of the 1700 and 1800s
A collection of over three hundred tie-on pockets from the 1700 and 1800s, with details that reveal their construction, materials and decoration. Pockets were common but obscure objects, without great value and used by women of all social backgrounds so many dates and materials are provisional. Also included are textual and visual resources about the use and construction of pockets.
Regency, Victorian, and Edwardian Dress
-
Books by Frances Grimble
Call Number: Follow link since call numbers varyPublication Date: 1997-2010Frances Grimble's books gather patterns for 19th c. American middle-class women, including undergarments, multi-part ensembles, and outerwear. Most are supplemented by detailed construction guidance from Butterick’s The Delineator magazine (listed also on this page). -
Full-Color Victorian Fashions, 1870-1893
by
Call Number: Art Library, GT595. F85 1999ISBN: 0486404846Publication Date: 1999-01-18From the most popular French fashion magazines of the late 19th century — 52 extremely rare plates depict the latest in chic apparel for the well-to-do, including elegant day dresses, hunting outfits, ruffled dresses for the seaside, ornamented costumes for the theatre, lavish evening wear, a parade of millinery styles, and more.
-
Victorian Popular Culture
A rich collection of primary sources grouped into four broad categories:
1. Spiritualism and Magic
2. Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
3. Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment
4. Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
Magazines
Godey's Lady's Magazine
American women's magazine published in Philadelphia from 1830 to 1878, it had the largest readership in the USA before the Civil War. The popular, hand-tinted "Fashion Plate" (in every issue after 1852) documents changes in American women's clothing. Also known as: Godey's lady's book and ladies' American magazine 1840-1843; Godey's magazine and lady's book 1844-1848; Godey's lady's book and magazine 1854-1882
-
Le Garde-meuble
_Le Garde-meuble_ is a French, bi-monthly interior decoration magazine. The Smithsonian Institute Libraries has scanned the years 1841-1851 and consists of more than 400 images. Clicking on "Explore the Collection" at the top of the homepage leads to a search page and browsing by "Style/Period of Furniture," "Type of Furniture" or "Volume" (of the magazine). The "Type of Furniture" search is divided up into broad categories: "Floor Plans", "Window Treatments", "Furniture-Casework", and "Furniture-Seating."
-
The Delineator
Call Number: Art Library Periodicals, vol 13-16, 19-33, 35-41, 43-47, 51-54, 56, 58-63, 67-79, 82, 84, 87-89, 92-93, 97Publication Date: 1879-1920A 19th century women's magazine devoted to fashion and dressmakingThe Delineator featured the Butterick sewing patterns and provided an in-depth look at the fashion of the day.The Art Library has an incomplete run from 1879-1920. Merged to become the Pictorial Review from 1899 - 1906 -
Victorian Fashions and Costumes from Harper's Bazaar, 1867-1898
by
Call Number: Art Library, GT595. B56 1974ISBN: 048623083XPublication Date: 1974Day costumes, evening wear, sports clothes, shoes, hats, other accessories in over 1,000 detailed engravings.
Useful OBIS Subject Headings
Beauty, Personal -- History -- 19th century
Coats
Cloaks
Stoles (Clothing)
Clothing and dress -- History -- 19th century
Clothing and dress -- United States -- History -- 19th century
Costume -- History -- 19th century
Fashion -- United States -- History -- 19th century
Fashion -- United States -- History -- 19th century -- Pictorial works
Portrait photography -- United States -- History -- 19th century
Women's clothing -- History -- 19th century