Databases
Search across large collections of scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries at once. Entries can be helpful for general understanding, keywords, mining the bibliography or reference sections, and identifying readily available primary source collections on a given topic.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative and detailed articles providing introductions to many academic subjects. Particularly strong in American history. History articles describe both major secondary literature and key primary sources on a topic.
-
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowHistorical overviews and contextual essays from leading scholars on topics across a broad range of time periods and geographies. Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs and are printable.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
-
Bloomsbury Cultural History This link opens in a new window
Authoritative survey of cultural history topics. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
Encyclopedias
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History
Detailed overviews of topics relating to American history including basic facts, historiographical debates, and availability of primary sources.
Research Methods
These resources provide specific guidance on typical research methods for both the study of history as a field and subdisciplines commonly used in in the Oberlin curriculum.
-
Reading History
by
ISBN: 9781487532376Publication Date: 2022Introduces students to different kinds of historical writing, acting as a guide to help them read and understand different types of primary and secondary sources. -
Thinking about History
by
Call Number: Main Library D16 .M417 2017ISBN: 9780226109336Publication Date: 2017-09-18A general introduction to the field of history that explores the boundaries between history and other disciplines. It asks whose history do we write, and how does that affect what stories get told and how they are told? How did we come to view the nation as the inevitable context for history? How should we evaluate sources? What is the difference between description and interpretation? -
The Oxford Handbook of History and Material Culture
by
ISBN: 9780199341764Publication Date: 2020-05-15Examines how material culture can enhance historians' understanding of the past, both worldwide and across time. -
Historical Research
by
ISBN: 9780582294592Publication Date: 2002-03-25Deals with the purpose of research, and the implications, limitations and benefits of different research methods, as well as the effective presentation of the finished result. -
An Introduction to Historical Comparison
by
Call Number: Main Library D16 .K89413 2021ISBN: 9781350123328Publication Date: 2021-01-14Designed as a helpful resource for historians, this work aims to teach scholars how to develop the skills needed to successfully employ a comparative methodology. -
The Oral History Manual
by
Call Number: Main Library D16.14 .S69 2018ISBN: 9781442270787Publication Date: 2018-07-05Discusses oral history methodology in the context of the oral history life cycle. Examines how to articulate the purpose of an interview, determine legal and ethical parameters, identify narrators and interviewers, choose equipment, develop budgets and record-keeping systems, prepare for and record interviews, care for interview materials, and use the interview information. -
Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in Military Studies
by
ISBN: 0415635330Publication Date: 2014-07-23This volume offers an overview of the methodologies of research in the field of military studies.
