Biography
- Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies. - Dictionary of Artists (a.k.a. "Benezit online")
The most comprehensive artist biographical dictionary available in English, covering 5 B.C. to the present. - Drawings of the Florentine Painters. Berenson
Though many catalogues exist for individual collections and artists, Berenson’s study is the only resource that includes drawings from across Europe and the United States by nearly seventy Florentine painters, from Taddeo Gaddi through Bronzino. This site combines entries from all three editions together in one place.
Patrons and Artists in the Italian Renaissance by Call Number: Art Library N6915 .C4413 1971 (2 copies)ISBN: 0872492206Publication Date: 1971A collection of translated extracts documenting patronage and the working practice of artists with letters, contracts, extracts from books of payment, etc.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists by Call Number: Art Library Reference N40 .D5213 2006 v.1-14ISBN: 2700030702The most comprehensive artist biographical dictionary available in English "Benezit" covers thousands of painters, sculptors, designers and graphic artists from 5 B.C. to the present. Entries vary from a few lines to several paragraphs.
This first English translation extensively revises and enlarges the previous edition (1999). Longer entries list prizes won by the artist and museums where their works can be found. "Prices" for select works are included as well; volume 1 has a historical currency conversion chart. Many entries include facsimiles of signatures; monograms are listed at the end of each letter of the alphabet. There is also an author index and list of works cited.
Le Vite de' più eccellenti pittori, scultori, e architettori by Call Number: Art Library N6922 .V3 1906 vol. 1-9Publication Date: 1906An important translation by Gaetano Milanese.