Iconography
-
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N7560.H34 2008ISBN: 9780813343938Themes common in western art in the Renaissance period and later; particularly useful for classical and Christian themes. Includes persons and personifications; objects and attributes; and well known narratives (e.g., The Raising of Lazarus). -
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
by
Call Number: Art Reference NX650. M9R45 1993 vol. 1-2ISBN: 0195049985Publication Date: 1993Identifies Greek and Roman mythological figures in 30,000+ western European and north American visual and performing arts from 1300-1900
Jewish Art
-
Index of Jewish art
by
Call Number: Art Limited Access Unusual N7415.N34 vol. 1; Art Limited Access Mini N7415.N34 vol. 2Use to locate themes, motifs and narratives in Hebrew illuminated manuscripts dated from the 300 BCE onward. Provides descriptions and analysis of narratives, subjects, and iconography as well as bibliographies and corresponding manuscript titles. -
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols
by
Call Number: Main Library, BM50 .F74 1992ISBN: 0876685947The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols contains more than 250 definitions and descriptions for ceremonial objects and images, personalities, places, concepts, motifs, and events all representing central Jewish ideas that continue to play a meaningful role in defining Jewish experience today.
Christian Art
-
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The largest thematic archive of medieval iconography available, the Index reproduces works of art, arranged by subject, from the 1st c. through around 1550 CE. Formerly the Index of Christian Art, the Index now includes secular subjects and a growing number from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.
-
Lexikon der Christlichen Ikonographie by
Call Number: Art Reference BV150.L4 Bd 1-8Covers a broad range of Christian symbols and themes: General Iconography ("Allgemeine Ikonographie") and Iconography of the Saints ("Ikonographie der Heiligen"). The index ("Stichwortverzeichnisse") at the end of volume 4 provides German equivalents for English terms. -
Iconographie de l'art chrétien
by
Call Number: Art Reference N7830. R37 vol.1, vol. 2 pt.1-2, vol. 3 pt.1-3Use to trace the development of themes, motifs, biblical stories and characters mostly from Medieval - Baroque artwork in the west. In French. -
Iconography of Christian Art
by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N7830.S3513, vol.1-2 & N 7830 .S35, vol. 3-5ISBN: 0853312702A comprehensive 5 volume study of Christian iconography citing typical depictions of events or concepts including their origin, development, and connection with biblical texts as well as dogma, the liturgy, devotional writing and religious trends. Symbols are also interpreted. Vol. 1: Christ's Incarnation. Childhood. Baptism. Temptation. Transfiguration. Works and miracles. Vol. 2: Passion of Jesus Christ Bd. 3. Die Auferstehung und Erhohung Christi (The Resurrection and Raising of Christ). Bd. 4, 1. Die Kirche (The Church). Bd. 4, 2. Maria (Mary). Bd. 5. Die Apokalypse des Johannes (The Book of Revelation). -
Religious Art in France
by
Call Number: Art Library, N7949 .A1 M3313 through N7949 .A1 M3513ISBN: 0691099138A three volume study of the iconography underlying French religious art, by the eminent French scholar Emile Mâle (1862-1954).