Journals
Although photography is covered in many modern art journals the following title specialize in the field:
-
21st: the Journal of Contemporary Photography
Call Number: Art Library Oversize, TR187.T842 vol. 1-5Publication Date: 1998 -
ApertureCall Number: Art Library TR1.A62Created in 1952 by photographers and writers as “common ground for the advancement of photography,” Aperture remains and important journal, publisher and center for the photo community. Available in print and online.
-
AfterimageFor over 40 years Afterimage has been an important publication with unique, high-quality coverage of the visual arts, photography, independent film and video, new media, and alternative publishing. Each issue is a mix of in-depth feature articles, conference and festival reports, book and exhibition reviews, and dozens of citations on new scholarly titles, artist’s books, and exhibition catalogs. Afterimage online offers exclusive reports, additional reviews, artists’ portfolios and videos, and notices for jobs, calls-for-work, exhibitions, and screenings.
-
ASX: American Suburb X
A weekly blog with essays, interviews, reviews and an archive of photos.
-
History of Photography
Call Number: Art Library PeriodicalsPublication Date: London, Taylor & Francis Ltd. (1982-)Available in print and online.
Photography databases
-
Agence photographique de la Reunion des Musees Nationaux (RMN) This link opens in a new window
Photographs from museums across France, of art, architecture, archaeology and ethnology worldwide
-
ARTbibliographies MODERN This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300+ journals published from 1969 to the present covering western European and North American art created in the late 19th century to the present. Also indexes exhibition catalogs, books and essays in books. Includes photography, the fine arts and new media but not architecture.
-
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes contents of the 42 major art journals published in 19th c. America. Covers the fine arts, architecture, design and photography in Europe and North America from prehistory to the late 19th c. Advertisements are indexed and many articles have links to full text.
