Japanese Art: Find images

- The collection includes Japanese screen and scroll paintings, sculptures, prints, ceramics, textiles, metalwork and woven bamboo art
- Objects created in the 10th century to the present

Use for images of Japanese life and culture from pre-historic Jomon artifacts to contemporary documents. Over 1 million items from museums, libraries, etc. can be searched with a rich selection of options including Era, Subject, Person/ Organization, Object Type, and Date.

A digital showcase of Japanese prints and drawings held at the Cotsen Children’s Library, Princeton University. From the Edo Period (1600-1868) to the first half of the twentieth century, this collection contains hand-painted scrolls, game boards (sugoroku), woodblock prints, pictorial maps, classroom wall charts, and playing cards (iroha karuta). The game boards were selected from a total of around 300 sheets of sugoroku held at Cotsen, a rare collection comparable to the few existing in Japan. A dice-based game, sugoroku has entertained the Japanese for centuries. A wide range of topics and themes can be found in the heavily illustrated game boards, which served not only for recreation but also for the dissemination of information, commercial advertising, literacy education, moral and political socialization, and militarist propaganda targeting children and adults alike.

Mary A. Ainsworth first traveled to Japan in 1905. Over the next 25 years, she steadily acquired a collection of Japanese prints and books of impressive breadth and depth. Ainsworth bequeathed her collection to Oberlin College in 1950.

OMuRAA identifies identifies, describes and organizes online visual resources including collections databases, digital image libraries, archived websites of special exhibitions, online presentations of focused collections, and websites for teaching with and about art. OMuRAA (Online Museum Resources on Asian Art) is an initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University.

An imagebase of over 225,000 prints gathered from major museums around the world. Upload an image of a print and use "similar image" to find matches across the database. Created by John Resig.

The largest collection of historic photograph, approximately 7,000, taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu (1853) through the Meiji periods (1912).

The University of Hawaii at Manoa (UHM) has a collection of approximately 1,500 magic lantern slides in its Japan Collection, which it has digitized with the permission of the Japan Foundation. The magic lantern was the precursor to the modern slide projector, and was extremely popular in Europe and Asia in the 1800s, with public shows traveling to towns and villages. The slides featured on the UHM website are those that were produced and distributed by KBS (a predecessor of the Japan Foundation).

To view the collection, you can browse alphabetically by title, category, and by slides with recent comments made about them.

Provided by the Mainich Newspapers, this is the largest database of photos in Japan, with a total of 450 thousand photos from the Meiji era to today (120 thousand from the pre-WWII period). It allows free search, but reproduction rights and downloads are fee-based.

Scans of photographs found in publications held by the National Diet Library, Tokyo, Japan. The NDL has selected approximately 1,300 photos of buildings, famous tourist locations and other scenery from these materials. Some images come from related digital exhibitions as well. Articles have also been prepared for several items to provide the opportunity to learn more about the item's background and history.

Search by keyword or from the provided maps.

Database combining the collections of the four National Museums of the National Institutes for Cultural Heritage (Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum and Kyushu National Museum) and the collections of the Nara National Research Institute for Cultural Properties. Images are limited to works whose copyright protection period have expired for which digital images have been prepared. Recordings of data in languages other than Japanese are limited to a portion of the works.

View and learn about 600 of the most important works in "TNM collections." The combined holdings of Japan's four major museums (The Tokyo National Museum, Kyoto National Museum, Nara National Museum, and the Kyushu National Museum) can be searched in
ColBase ( 28,000+ images). The e-Museum searches national treasures from the same group of museums.