Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Renaissance & Baroque art
Barockthemen, eine Auswahl von Verzeichnissen zur Ikonographie des 17 by
Call Number: Art Reference N6415.B3 P5 1974 Bd.1-3
Iconographic themes common in Baroque art and the artists who depicted them; covers both religious and secular subjects
Baroque Art: A Topical Dictionary by
Call Number: Art Reference N6415.B3 E18 1996
Defines themes and subjects common in Baroque art.
Iconography of the Counter Reformation in the Netherlands: Heaven on Earth by
Call Number: Art Reference N7953.A1K71 1974 vol.1-2
Publication Date: 1974
Renaissance Art: A Topical Dictionary by
Call Number: Art Reference, N6370. E27 1987
Publication Date: 1987
Covers the subjects, iconography and themes found in Renaissance and Baroque art; techniques and media covered as well.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by
Call Number: Art Library Reference, N7560.H34 2008
Themes common in western art in the Renaissance period and later; particularly useful for classical and Christian themes. Includes persons and personifications; objects and attributes; and well known narratives (e.g., The Raising of Lazarus).
Medieval Art by
Call Number: Art Library N7850.R67 1996
Designed as a quick-reference source to the topics, symbols, themes, and stories most frequently found in early Christian, western medieval, and Byzantine art, this work describes topics that include names and narratives drawn from the Bible and apocrypha, the lives of saints, and numerous other textual sources.
Medieval Iconography by
Call Number: Art Library 5933. F75 1998
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by
Call Number: Art Reference NX650. M9R45 1993 vol. 1-2
Publication Date: 1993
Identifies Greek and Roman mythological figures in 30,000+ western European and north American visual and performing arts from 1300-1900
Index of Jewish art by
Call Number: Art Limited Access Unusual N7415.N34 vol. 1; Art Limited Access Mini N7415.N34 vol. 2
Use to locate themes, motifs and narratives in Hebrew illuminated manuscripts dated from the 300 BCE onward. Provides descriptions and analysis of narratives, subjects, and iconography as well as bibliographies and corresponding manuscript titles.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols by
Call Number: Main Library, BM50 .F74 1992
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Symbols contains more than 250 definitions and descriptions for ceremonial objects and images, personalities, places, concepts, motifs, and events all representing central Jewish ideas that continue to play a meaningful role in defining Jewish experience today.