Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Joconde: French museum collections
The combined holdings of French public museums. Objects in the public domain have images; select "avec image"; applies to most works created before 1923. Supports searching works by subject, a unique feature. Searching is done in French.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY, NY
Search the collections of the largest museum in the United States. The Met's collections are encyclopedic and cover art worldwide.
National Gallery, London - Paintings
A complete list of paintings by each artist in the collection. Use to search for specific artists.
National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Records for all 100,000+ objects in the Gallery's collection, many with images. Use to search for specific artists.
Polo Fiorentino Museale: Search the collection
The extraordinary artistic wealth of the museums of Florence can be traced to the generosity of the Medici family, who lived in Florence as early as 1200. The family’s large art collection -- as well as the contents of the Uffizi, the Palazzo Pitti, and various villas -- was given to the city of Florence in the mid-18th c.
Collection Catalogue: Vatican Museums
The online catalogue of the Vatican Museums presents essential information for works on display. For each work there is basic information, accompanied by one or more photographs. The database is still in the implementation phase and available at present only in Italian (as of March 2020)
Victoria & Albert Museum: Collections
The V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity with particular strengths in architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewelry, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance. [From the website]
Victoria & Albert Museum: Print Collection
Follow this link to search the V&A's rich collection of Renaissance or Baroque prints.
British Museum Collections
The British museum's collections – among the largest and most comprehensive in the world – recall a time when their Empire controlled 24% of the world's land and 23% of its people.
The collection database is derived from staff collection data so it is full of specialized terms, abbreviations and shorthand as well as words and concepts now recognized as offensive. (There is a link to report offensive language.) Although there are over two million records in the database it only covers about half of the collection.
The Illustrated Bartsch by
Call Number: Art Library, NE 90.B23 I4
Publication Date: 1978 - ongoing
Prints by 500 German, Netherlandish, and Italian artists from 1400 – 1700, with scholarly commentary. Useful for iconographic comparisons, or studying the print output of a specific artist. ARTstor has the images, but no commentary, for of the out-of-print volumes in this set.
Supplemented by Hollstein's _Dutch and Flemish etchings, engravings, and woodcuts, ca. 1450-1700_ and _German engravings, etchings, and woodcuts, ca. 1400-1700_.
A portion of this corpus -- the first 96 image volumes -- are available via Artstor. For related commentaries see the printed volumes shelved under NE90.B23 i4
Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard: An Illustrated Catalogue Raisonné of the Work of Peter Paul Rubens Based on the Material Assembled by the Late Dr. Ludwig Burchard in Twenty-Six Parts by
Call Number: Art Library ND673.R9 C63 pts. 1-26
Use to access all Ruben’s scholarship in one place; a definitive catalogue raisonné of Rubens' work arranged thematically, each volume by a noted scholar.
Corpora of Italian painting
A Critical and Historical Corpus of Florentine Painting by
Call Number: Art Library, ND621.F7 O37 sect. 3 vol. 1-8, sect 4 vol. 1
Use for reproductions and scholarship about essentially every extant painting from Renaissance Florence. Includes scholarly material including the history of the work, condition and an extensive bibliography.
Drawings of the Florentine Painters. Berenson
Though many catalogues exist for individual collections and artists, Berenson’s study is the only resource that includes drawings from across Europe and the United States by nearly seventy Florentine painters, from Taddeo Gaddi through Bronzino. This site combines entries from all three editions together in one place.
Florentine Gothic Painters from Giotto to Masaccio by
Call Number: Art Library ND621.F7 F73 1975
A shorter and more accesiblle complement to Richard Offner's A Critical and Historical Corpus of Florentine Painting.
Italian Pictures of the Renaissance: A List of the Principal Artists and Their Works with an Index of Places by
Call Number: 759.5B45ItF, vol. 1-2
An important collection for the study of Renaissance art, covering all known paintings from the Italian Renaissance. A companion to Bernard Berenson's The Italian painters of the Renaissance.
Archives and Libraries
Ambrosiana Drawings Inventory Catalogue
Database of the over 8,300 drawings in the Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Milan, Italy, by European artists from the 14th through the 19th centuries. The drawings inventoried here are only those contained in the F Inferior grouping; comparatively few can be attributed to a given artist with absolute certainty.
Archive of Roman Collecting (Archivio del collezionismo romano)
Database indexing objects, patrons, or artists listed in 17th c. archival inventories found in Roman institutions. The inventories contain "collections of art, scientific instruments, curiosities and archaeological finds, as well as everyday objects."