Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Texts for Christian & Classical imagery
Douay Rheims Bible
Call Number: Art Reference BS180 2002 c.1-2
St. Jerome's Latin translation of the Bible, The Vulgate, is an important primary source as it was used throughout the Renaissance. The Douay-Rheims is the English translation closest to the Vulgate. Also online (see link).
The Golden Legend: Readings on the Saints by
Call Number: Art Reference BX4654.J334 1993 vol. 1-2
Popular religious stories about the lives of the saints collected during the 13th century; stories were widely used by Medieval and Renaissance artists.
Metamorphoses by Ovid
Ovid's Metamorphosis was a source for much of the classical imagery in the Middle Ages, Renaissance and Baroque periods.
Also of use
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Sculpture by
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Sculpture conveniently presents new technical, scientific, literary, and theoretical approaches to the study of Roman sculpture in one reference volume while simultaneously complementing textbooks and other publications that present well-known works in the corpus. The contributors to this volume address metropolitan and provincial material from the early republican period through late antiquity in an engaging and fresh style.
Renaissance Artists and Antique Sculpture by
Call Number: Art Reference NB86.B6 1986
Includes text about and images of 200 ancient sculptures known to Renaissance artists.
Patrons and Artists in the Italian Renaissance by
Call Number: Art Library N6915 .C4413 1971 (2 copies)
A carefully selected collection of extracts from documents providing a good introduction to the various types of archival materials used to research Italian Renaissance art. The author documents patronage and the working practice of artists with letters, contracts, extracts from books of payment, etc. All documents are translated.
Women and the Visual Arts in Italy c. 1400-1650 by
Call Number: Art Library N5273 .W65 2012
Anthology of original sources from c.1400 to 1650, -- such as inventories, letters, diaries, wills, artists' contracts, treatises or poetic works --translated from Italian or Latin, that address women's involvement in the visual arts and material culture of their day. Divided into four parts: 1. Material environments: living quarters and contents; women's appearance outside the home, on everyday occasions, and in lavishly orchestrated spectacles. 2. Women as agents: commissioning, supervising or bequeathing ambitious architectural projects; commissioning and acquiring paintings and sculptures. 3. Religious devotion: The role of buildings, paintings and objects. 4. The working lives of female artists and writings about real or imaginary artifacts.
See also: Women in Italy, 1340-1650, Ideals and Realities. Main Library, HQ 1149 .I8 W66 2005
The Lives of the Artists by
Call Number: Art Library N6922 .V2213 1998 (2 copies)
These biographies of the great quattrocento artists have long been considered among the most important of contemporary sources on Italian Renaissance art. Vasari, who invented the term "Renaissance," was the first to outline the influential theory of Renaissance art that traces a progression through Giotto, Brunelleschi, and finally the titanic figures of Michaelangelo, Da Vinci, and Raphael. This new translation, specially commissioned for the World's Classics series, contains thirty-six of the most important lives and is fully annotated.
The Lives of the illustrious Netherlandish and German painters by
Call Number: Art Library ND625.M313 1994 vol. 1-6
Biographies of Northern European painters; many written during their lifetimes.
Collections of primary documents
A Documentary History of Art
Call Number: Art Library, N 5303. D6 1981 vol. 1-2
Italian Art, 1400-1500 by
Call Number: Art Library N6915.I78 c.1-3
Publication Date: 1979
Anthology of translated excepts from important texts about art in Italy from 1400 - 1500. Includes critical essays, and bibliographies.
Italian Art, 1500-1600: Sources and Documents in the History of Art by
Call Number: Art Library N6915 .K55 1966 (2 copies)
Publication Date: 1966
Primary sources in translation.
Italy and Spain, 1600-1750; sources and documents by
Call Number: Art Library N6916.E5 c1-3
Publication Date: 1970
Anthology of excepts from important translated texts about art in Italy and Spain during the years 1600-1750. Includes critical essays, and bibliographies.
Literary Sources of Art History: an Anthology of Texts from Theophilus to Goethe
Call Number: Art Library, 709 H742L c.4
Publication Date: 1947
Translations of excerpts from original sources including etters, journals and essays.
Northern Renaissance Art 1400-1600: Sources and Documents by
Call Number: Art Library, N 6370 .S66 1989 c.1-2